How Well Do You Know Yourself?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

No, I'm not talking about your favorite food, personal style, favorite color, etc while all of that matters, I think they are only a tip of the iceberg. There is something much deeper than that and until you discover (and embrace) that, you may never get to truly know yourself.


Source

It is also not about taking personality tests because while that helps, there is only so much these tests reveal and when we depend on them in order to get to know ourselves, we miss out on so many things. Like the experience, you get on your journey for example. Taking it as a shortcut to self-discovery just isn't a great idea, if you ask me.

So many times, we focus on that part of us that don't really define us and over time, we give them the power to define us for examples our mistakes or weakness. There are parts of us that we don't necessarily need to discover before we fully live, but there are parts that need to be discovered.

Me for example, I don't know my favorite color (weird?) but that doesn't mean I don't know myself, I just think that there are just too many beautiful colors to chose just one from. Now that I think of it, I think I know myself enough to know that one color isn't enough for me! I could change with time but for now, that's it for me.

So, what do you need to discover about yourself?

  • Understanding what your heart beats for
  • Your strengths and weakness
  • What easily irritates you
  • What you are most comfortable doing etc.

Become aware of these things and open yourself for more growth because while you may discover these things, they could change at some point.


Source

How Do You Go About It?

Explore

Without exploring, you may never find out enough, and in that process, we may evolve and from there, get more knowledge of ourselves. Take that step towards self-discovery by opening yourself to exploring different parts of you, that way you will to get to discover who you truly are.

Don't Forget To Challenge Yourself

Sometimes life challenges us by itself, and other times, we will need to take that role and challenge our own selves. So, you think there are certain things you may never be able to do? Well, that's probably because you have never given them a try and I believe that part of self-discovery is understanding our potentials and that really, can't be ruled out if we really want to get to know ourselves better.

Spend Time With Yourself (in Solitude)

A little time with yourself, ask thought-provoking questions (even if they may be uncomfortable), try as much as possible to be honest with yourself when answering these question. Because the truth is, we sometimes try to distort the truth (even our truth).

The answer to the question of "who you are" constantly changes with time as we experience more growth but that doesn't mean we should quit discovering. Yes, we will change but before we do, we need the current knowledge of ourselves to live fully at that point.

It's a journey of self-discovery, and it really never ends! You may not notice it, but with each day, there might be little things that change about you and with time, these changes acummulate.

To be able to reach your full potentials, then you will need to know (and seek to know) who you are, you may make mistake on your journey to know yourself better but its never the end, it is all part of the experience and journey.

Don't let yourself be defined about what "they" think about you, take steps towards that discovery and learn to live with it

Self- discovery isn't something that is done once and then pushed under the rug, it is something that happens continually. And if at some point you feel like you know very little or probably nothing (which doesn't always happen) about yourself, you don't need to freak out, it could be because we are all constantly evolving and all you need do in these moments is take a break and rediscover yourself.


Source

So, take those little steps and enjoy the journey as you get to know who you truly are!! It is no rocket science, it is attainable.


Much Love, Audrey

Recent Posts You May Like

The World Needs You

You Don't Have To Be "Good" At It Before You Do It

Why You Should Believe That The Best Is Yet To Come

Choose To Be Thankful In The Challenges, That Is Where You Experience Growth

Maybe We Don't Have To Find Strength Somewhere Else

Are You Standing In Your Own Way?

Finding Humour In Difficult Times

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by audreybits from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

You know what I like to do when I spend my time in solitude? Talk to myself! HAHAHAHAHA Really! :) I love to just voice my thoughts and concerns out loud... hear them... weigh them... listen to even the WAY that I speak certain things to hear the emotions behind them! :)

I think its a valuable practice - even if someone might think i'm crazy! heehhehee

😀😀 that's actually a nice practice, I should practice more of that!!

I think it's not too crazy though, well, except if you do that when you are supposed to be talking to someone else. I had this friend then, we will be strolling and she will be talking to herself instead of me and be apologising after a few minutes. I though hers was a bit crazy... Walking with me isn't supposed to be her solitude... 😅😅😂

I think i only talk to myself when i'm alone??? hahahahahaha

or - at least by myself in my room hahaha but if i'm with people? i think I talk to them!!!! LOLOL

😀😀 You don't seem like snub, so I believe you on that!

Yes, so true, its not personality tests ... I think its life that creates challenges to reveal your true inner self ... and yes, this journey never ends ...

Thank you so much for these amazing true words, have a beautiful start into the new week @audreybits!
xx

😃 Thank you for taking out time to read and also drop a comment, it means alot!!

You are more than welcome, your writing inspires me every time! Just had a busy week and this week seems to play out also as busy as the last ... ughhh, wish I would have more time ....

I am so glad it does inspire you. It seem to be one of those busy weeks for you. I hope It doesn't get too busy next week ( or for the rest of the week). Will really love to have more of you around here...

Introspection and self-exploration are always good areas to dip into, but spending too much time doing that can lead to a morass of self-doubt if no immediate answers to your questions are found.

Self-examination is like diving into water: it is refreshing and gives you a quick view of what is under the surface, but if you spend too much time there, you are going to be in trouble because that is not where your real life is. Take a quick survey and get back to your regular life. Sitting and searching for your "true" self too often will lead to confusion, self-doubt, and a lot of wrong answers. The discovery process is also like baking a cake: doubling the temperature will not result in a good cake in half the time.

You will figure it out at some point when the time comes for you to know.

Just like everything, moderation is key! So yeah, spending too much time than necessary will be counterproductive.

Thank you for stopping by...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86