Be Productive, Don't Stress About Looking it.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I remember back then when I was younger and had to spend a week at an Uncle's house, I was told by my Dad that he loves to see kids studying really hard, in my quest to impress him I decided to stick to my books once I stepped foot into his house, but the truth is that I was not studying anything (just staring at it), how stupid! I now wonder why I even wanted to impress him. I didn't let myself have fun, neither did I enjoy the book that was in front of me.

Source

I believe there is an enormous difference between being productive and looking productive. Most of the time, we focus on looking it rather than actually being it (well, maybe we wanna impress?). We might refuse to hang out with friends, we refuse to let ourselves relax or do anything that might look unproductive, but at the end of the day we just end up looking it, not being it.

The most important thing is being able to strike a balance between doing the hard work and having fun, you will get the job done, be far more productive and also enjoy life as well. On the contrary, when trying to look productive there is a high chance of not being productive at all (or at least not as much as we want to), because the focus is on "looking it" not "being it".

Source

I had classmates back then that engaged in almost no fun at all, and studied all day, they looked really productive but the results at the end of the day showed otherwise, maybe they really did study hard, but they were not able to strike a balance, have fun and refresh their minds.

Yes, it is possible to be productive and enjoy life to the fullest. Allowing yourself have fun will replenish your mental energy, help you de-stress and enhance your performance.

Don't focus your energy trying to look productive, be productive, have fun, you might appear to be unproductive but let the results speak for it.


Sort:  

You hit it there when you said

strike a balance.
That's the code.

yeah, It is! Thanks for stopping by.

You just planted 0.12 tree(s)!


Thanks to @audreybits

We have planted already 5616.42 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22212.04
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You got a 33.33% upvote from @automation courtesy of @audreybits! This is a service sponsored by @yehey. Please consider voting @yehey for Witnes. Use this short URL link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote, this will redirect to Steem Connect for secure connection.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 90% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/automation to delegate SP to @Automation.
If you need an extra upvote, join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server.

Have a lovely day.
@Automation - Keep Steeming for a better future.

Congratulations @audreybits! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

From my experience, really hardworking people are very good also in the ways they have fun. The more you work - the more you enjoy your leisure time! Thanks for the article, nice one!

I like your ethos. I agree, its all about balance!

Yeah, it is. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52