Pust

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I love Pust. I loved it since I was a child. Me and my sister would run the village, dressed as clowns, witches, bees, gypsies, princesses, cave men, etc. and knocked on doors. Generally the rule is to stay quiet to keep your identity hidden, but I remember a year or two we even learned a song we sang in front of open doors as an exchange for candy.

2.png

At the end of the day we sat down, make-up smeared across our faces, wigs askew, robes messed up and look at our loot. Candy, donuts, oranges and some money.

While Pust may sound like Halloween it is a bit different. The tradition is to scare away the winter and to call on the spring. And yes, while kids do dress up as different characters and wear masks, we do have traditional masks depending on region of the country.

kurent.png

Kurent is a traditional mask. With their jumping and hopping they produce a lot of noise which should vanquish the winter and evil and call in the spring. Then we have the Cerkljanske masks, which are more comedian and Škoromate who burn the Pust at the end.

They each own their own traditions and quirks passed along time and people.

I love crafting my mask from scratch, my sister is no different … Pust is simply our favorite time of the year. Besides, donuts can be bought just for a few cents round this time too.

3.png

Sort:  

LOL...."Fat"

It seems to me that's what all the holidays are about at this point.

Really good cartooning as usual and that's a great scarecrow. You should consider just putting together a bunch of your drawings all on one page, not really worried about the "stories" but just to see a bunch of your art together. I think that would be pretty cool.

I might sort that out at some point. Honestly don't even know how id get to it. :) I have it in folders more or less and its sort of funny how much of it has pilled up.

Fun, I've never heard about this! Pust means breath in Norwegian by the way :)

Here its sort of comes from the word fasting. If translated directly it means "bland".

Loving your cartoons as always. And this one came with a fascinating history lesson. I've never heard of Pust before. But do you get to celebrate Halloween as well?

But why are the donuts cheaper?

I like the idea of scaring away winter. If we get another snowstorm I'm gonna point my hair-drier at it.

...nah we dont have halloween (not in the same sense your do). Some bars organise a party here and stores do sell some stuff...but its not rly rooted. We do have the day of the dead on the 1st of November where the point is more or less decorating the graves.

As for donuts its sort of related with tradition and thinking you, your animals and the spirits have to be very full on Pust or the harvest thaty year will be bad. Food has to be heavy and rich and I guess a donut fits that. :) So stores takes advantage of that...lol

I think I love this tradition! I wonder if we could get it to catch on in the states?

Mas kej za pusta hrusta? :D Beautiful!

Bil kaj v maškarah? :3

Se kr hodim okol po svetu ko dedek mraz, ce to vela :D
(vse za krof) haha

u u u...vključno z vrečo z darili? :D

haha ne edino to zgleda da se je zakl raztrgo ko sm se po hribih spuso :'D

What an amazing holiday, I wish we had that. Great illustraton of it too, as usual :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46