You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Too gloomy to stay. Too settled to leave.

in #life6 years ago

I know many people who would love to live in California. 😀
I am different though... My dream is to live in Scotland - ever since the first time I watched Braveheart. 😀There is a very strong pull to stay there in a small hermitage surrounded by sheep. The thought alone makes me feel peaceful. The sad thing with this is, that we won't meet, when you are going to Bali. 😀
Much Love,
Brave-❤️

Sort:  

Scotland

I'm watching Outlander now, so I'm kinda obsessed with it. My husband is Scottish. :) So magical!

Well thankfully planes fly both ways! I can see the appeal of that country lifestyle. Where I am now is a small degree of that. There's a horse farm and an vineyard up my street. Plus my views are all hills and trees and sky, with a creek also flowing along my daily walk. But I'm still in the city in half an hour outside rush hour. I imagine there are quite a few people who would love the cool, quiet of such a setting, and often I do. But I yearn for the sun!

But I yearn for the sun!

I am so much a sun person! But I do enjoy the contrast of our mountain winters so I can appreciate it more. I lived in Florida for ten years, and it's a little monotonous.

People always tell me when I live on tropical islands that I'll eventually get "island fever" and want to go, but you know even at 5 years I never did. I got enough contrast with the 60s and rain of the winters and 80s and sun of the rest of the year. But if one has fun in lots of different kinds of weather, attire, outdoor activities that vary, I can see missing that kind of contrast. I'm such a simple person that I could just walk the beach every day forever and be content. 🙂

I stayed on Martha's Vineyard for a summer, and I def got island fever. I think I had it in Florida, too. Cause being down all the way on the bottom of Florida it kinda feels like you're on an island, you know? You're just dangling off the landmass away from everything (all the way on the bottom of crazy-land. (I'm not a Florida fan. :) ) )

Yeah, I'm picking up on FL not really being your favorite state LOL!

I get depressed if I don't have sun! I'm going to Bali tomorrow...come join me!! Last year Portland winter got me down! I had no idea there were horses and things like that around your part of town lol.

I feel like being settled AND yearn for the road at the same time haha I get how you feel. Once you've got the travel bug it's hard to ever feel 100% satisfied again. There's always the small part of you that wants to go catch the island sun or something.

Yes, exactly! There is both the desire for "home" and the comfort and familiarity of it, and yet you know the new experiences waiting out there for you at all times. And sun! Sunny beaches in particular.

But you know, we just have to make enough with our crypto to buy a house near a tropical beach and also have a place where the seasons change. Maybe even a dual house share, if one person like Winter in the cold for skiing say and the other likes Winter in the tropics. That way no house ever sits empty but both households have ever "newness" and familiarity!

Well enjoy Bali. It will probably be after a couple other trips that I get back there. Still have Fiji, Spain, Jamaica and Ghana ahead as new places before I go back to familiar ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67703.52
ETH 3449.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73