You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Having a Crappy Job When You Are Young Builds Character For Life!

in #life7 years ago

Even though I started working since I was 15 to be able to keep paying for my school etc. I can't say it was a shitty job. 3 evenings a week I'd work in a videorent store and even though it was a lot of responsibility and it got really crowded during my hours it was still k I'd say.

The only time that sucked was when a "friend'' of mine stole 700euros and I ended up working half a year for free because I wanted to pay it back, and I had to take an extra job to be able to pay for my bills. That one not being that nice!

I worked in a factory that produced medicines and had to sort out huge buckets of yellow pills (taking out the bad ones), or put pills in boxes with the prescription etc... still have nightmares of that place lol!

Overall I'm grateful for all the jobs I've done ever since then. Some nice, some less nice. Because in the end it made a stronger, disciplined and a more responsible person.

Sort:  

Well there you go. You still faced a big responsibility on paying that money back and that adversity would not have been there if you weren't working that job. Even a job you like can teach valuable lessons, especially in our teen years.

That is very good of you to pay back that money, even though technically you were probably not required to do so. Shows alot of integrity, something that is lacking a bit in today's society.

True! I did get some valuable life lessons out of it nevertheless!

My boss knew I didn't do it, but since it was my responsibility he told me he had to let me go.

I felt really bad about the situation and told him I'd come and work for free till it would be paid back,without any obligation of taking me back afterwards.

I knew it was the right thing to do, and I actually did end up working there a for a few more years afterwards as well! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48