My life in Beijing: Quitting the Company

in #life6 years ago

Exactly 4 weeks ago, I bid goodbye to the company i worked with for 7 months. 7 months isn't long in a company but I had no choice but to leave the job. I remember I was told to stay several times by the other CEO who knows my capabilities in translating and writing, it was a skill I had that the company needs, but I still leave for Good.

WeChat Image_20181016000054.jpg
My "last day of work" picture at Haidian Innovation and Entrepreneurship Park, Beijing

Why I Quit?

"Because I'm still a student"

I had tight schedules and several deadlines. Due to my thesis deadline coming soon this coming winter, dealing with both work and academic pressure is becoming challenging as day goes by.

"Different working culture"

The working Chinese in Beijing like to stay in the office all day and on weekends. They can eat, work, watch shows, and sleep on the same chair. On the other hand, I don't work that way; in the office, I focus on the task and have breaks outside the office. Sometimes, I do wonder if the Chinese ever rest. I guess the people I saw hanging out in the malls or in 'Sanlitun' are the ones from wealthier class.

“My health was affected”

On weekdays, I get exhausted from work and only get to work on my paper on the weekends. I had to deal with constant last minute request and changes until my health was affected. It was a constant physical and mental battle everyday and I didn’t have time for myself. There was a lot to take in, namely working culture differences, communication and mindset barriers at the workplace. While trying to cope with several work and academic papers at the same time, my health took a toll, and I burnt out.

Change of direction of the startup company

The startup company is planning a change in direction that is not align with the career path that I had in mind, so the best option was for me to leave before the change take place.

Quitting is the start of a new beginning

Telling my boss that I’m quitting isn’t as easy as I thought it would be, I didn’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings and the company did gave me a lot of experience. But I had distinguish my priorities in this stage of life; for now, my priority is to finish the thesis and graduate. Through this experience, I learnt that it is okay to quit if you can’t handle it anymore. I have endured, and I have given my best for a good 7 months until it was too much to handle and caused my heath to deteriorate.

It has been a month since I quit my job, and I have taken time to recover and let my body to heal by itself.

ps: Since writing on Steemit will stay in the blockchain forever, I do not want to reveal too much about the leadership and management in the company that might affect my future career, all I need to say is I left because I have to.

--- That's all from me, see you next time ---

Reena.K

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Looking back on my life in the corporate world, I think you have done the wisest thing moving on and studying while you are young @asianetwork

Experience is gained in moving, when you are in the right place you will know it and linger on. Always keep in mind your goal, never give into burdens or guilt others place on you in life.

Visiting from #steemitbloggers

thank you so much for that encouragement! currently, i'm tuning myself back to academic mode to finish up the thesis.

Keep following your dreams, life is too short to deviate.

Sounds like this is the best move for yoU!
Best of luck in whatever new direction your life takes you! ♥

Long time no see. Now I know. 😎 Didn't know anyone in Beijing, but I know many Steemians from Shanghai though.

Posted using Partiko Android

ya... steemit was down and i went for a 3 week holiday back home. I think I'm one of the few steemians from beijing, hope to connect to more beijing steemians

By the way, comment upvote that is lower than 2¢ will be burnt. Done you a favor by topping up the balance to all of your upvotes in this post liao 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

thank u so much!!!! 😍omg... burnt???? i've been doing a lot of catch up and reading but why burnt????

It is because the payout if too small, steem weren't able to break them down further to the curator and the author. Hence the minimum value of any content payout has to be 2¢ and above. Why would I say comment require this? Because post has a higher chance that anybody would upvote the post and make up the value. Whereas comment, usually only commentator or the person whose received the comment would make a upvote. Otherwise those 0.006 will be hang there forever and unable to payout.

Posted using Partiko Android

now i get it =) thank u so much. i think the best way is to pump up my sps

Always good to have more SP. Feels good to reward other people for their work. Best of all, the siok sendiri feeling is marvelous.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great lesson and courage to learn so young....best going forward....

thank you for the encouragement

Good luck with your thesis, Reena! Just focus on one thing, do it well, and graduate. Then the whole world will be open to you!

thank you! i will stick to that

good luck with your thesis! it's better to try and focus on one thing at the time that multiple ones as this will lead to exhaustion and you faced it :P As you said too

Quitting is the start of a new beginning

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 283 (10/16/18)

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Hey @asianetwork

Sometimes it's hard to see what is right in front of you. Well done for making a decision and good luck with your choices.

Gaz

Congratulation @asianetwork! Your post has been recently featured on #TeamMalaysia's Daily Pick Series! Health is wealth 😉, take care!!

Have a nice day and STEEM to the moon!

love team malaysia to the moon and back😍😍😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82