There Is So Much More To A Person But It's Up To You To See Through The Differences

in #life7 years ago

As I was getting my nails done (yes, I have become a woman who gets her manicure and I love it!) I started talking to the girl doing the manicure. Which for me is like a mega normal thing to do.
I talk to people. A LOT. No matter who they are.

Now the place I go to is run by chinese and only chinese women work there. And it is predominantly, white women that go there.
And what struck me, was that no one else in the beauty place was talking to their lady doing their hands or feet. And I wondered why.

Is it because they are different in the way they look and talk?
Is it because they don’t speak the Dutch language very well?
Is it because the Dutch are known to not be that openly friendly?
Is it because they feel that the Chinese ladies doing their nails are beneath them somehow?

I do not know.
Maybe next time I will ask them.
That would be some awkward conversations hehe

Anyway, what I found out about this girl was absolutely amazing.
She was 19 and came to Holland 2 years ago with her mother and stepfather. Even though she had ALWAYS lived with her grandmother since she was 9 years old. So they were in constant fights because they just weren’t used to each other.
The first year she was here, she went to school to learn Dutch. And didn’t understand a thing. No one spoke Chinese, she didn’t speak English, so she had NO verbal ways to communicate with her teachers or classmates. But somehow still managed to learn the language pretty decently. And now in her second year of school, she has decided to do a study as a carer.
When she told me this, I was pretty blown away.
Coming to a new country, with a mother you don’t really know, learning a new language, working with people you have never really seen before in your life and then taking up a study.
I think it’s pretty brilliant!
And she worked in a beauty shop as a nail assistant to earn money.
She’s a pretty hardworking young lady and I was happy she opened up to me and told me about her life.
But really, the only reason she opened up and told me these things, is because I started asking questions.
And not because I am nosy.
No.
Because I care and I know that LITERALLY every person on this planet has a story to tell.

In a sense, I am very lucky to be as socially comfortable in all situations.
I have zero problem in opening up to people.
And apparently know how to break the ice with the coldest humans.
But the whole point of this story is that it’s only by opening up and going into conversation with people, that their real truth is revealed.
You can’t judge a book by it’s cover
It’s SO damn cliche, but OH so true.

linus-nylund-403802.jpg

By Linus Nylund on www.unsplash.com


We are all just drops in a massive sea

Really, we have WAY more in common with each other than we think.
Really, we can make this place a WAY better place if we start looking for union instead of looking at our differences.
Really, you can make your own life easier when you recognize your own racial/prejudice/sexist/whatever else discriminating thoughts you may have and set them aside to go in search of understanding, acceptance and love. Yes even a little love.

So the moral of the story?

Go talk to people.
No matter what they do,look like,make,smell or how they act.
Because really, you’ll find connection. I promise you.
Plus a whole heap of compassion which I think is the most understanding, loving and accepting way to feel about anyone!

One of the ways I dip into compassion and union the fastest is that we were all babies at some point in our lives. So teeny weeny.

How’s that for some good old fashioned compassion in your heart?

Ps. After reading this post again, I just realized that this is what Humans Of Steemit is ALL about too. Seeing the differences and similarities, showing the humanness of it all.

Gosh, how great is that??

In seeing through the differences to find the union,

BIG LOVE,

Ashley

Made by the wonderful @stellabelle

Sort:  

I love your post ashley. I usually do this too. I like to talk to people and learn about their backstory and their upbringing regardless of their financial status and all. I like to listen to their stories and it makes me realize that i am so lucky to be in a better position than them and that i should treat them no differently than others. Thank you for this wonderful post ashley.

It's goes both ways though.
Talk to people who are seemingly richer, higher up or whatever than you are.
:)

Nice well keep it up
Upvoted

Humm, very nice 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39