What is in a Hello?

in #life6 years ago

During my teenage years, my parents were hell bent on me being courteous to every living being on the planet. I was not against it but I really did not see the point of stopping someone in the midst of doing something to say hello to them. And then I came across this story. I don't exactly remember where I read it but it kinda resonated with me and I thought I should share it with my fellow steemers. This is the story:

There once was a man who had the habit of wishing every person he met in the morning. He did not care whether it was his country's President or the security at his workplace. He always had a cheery hello to every person he met.
This man worked at a food manufacturing factory which had a storage room where the temperature was freezing. One fine day, he turned up to work and was going about it as usual. He went into the storage room at the end of the day for some work. By the time he finished his work, he realized that he had locked himself inside the room with no thermal wear. He started banging the door hoping someone would come and set him free but this was past closing time and there wasn't a soul inside the factory. Just when he thought that he was going to die a slow, painful death, the door opened and there stood the security guy. The man was amazed that the security came inside the opened the door because the security guy had been under strict orders on never to go inside the factory unless something really important needed to be done. This was to avoid contamination at the plant. So the man asked the security guy what he was doing inside. The security guy replied: "Everyday, at closing, you always wish me a good evening before you left. Today you did not so I thought you might still be inside. I came in to check in on you when I heard the knocking on the door".

The point of this story is that being kind to everyone is not going to cost us a dime and it might be that random act of kindness can actually end up saving your life. One can never know what is going to happen at the next instance so I believe it is better to be kind and good to everyone before the time comes for one's exit. I do not know if you guys have heard of this story before but I thought I should leave it here for those who have not come across it before. That is my act of kindness for the day!

Sort:  

Congratulations @arunsubramanian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48