You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Work Update: The Good, The Not So Bad, And The Photo Booth

in #life5 years ago

"I need to get into and the key I have just doesn't want to let me in."

A little graphite sprayed into the lock might loosen it up. It works on ignitions.

If you have this much to say without any major complaints, I imagine that there is a lot to like in your. I started a job in February and I can't seem to write more than a paragraph or two without the post descending into me angrily ranting about the incompetence and often duplicitous behavior of the management lol.

Sort:  

Hey, @artisticscreech.

So, it's a barrel lock, that has a couple of pins or teeth in it that's supposed to line up with the notches in the key. I think the barrel of the key is kind of bent, so it's just not getting to where it needs to be.

In some earlier posts I did talk quite a bit about some communication issues. That seems to be the biggest problem so far. There's only the owner and the general manager, and the owner is there, but not really a part of the day to day operations.

And the general manager, in my estimation, just has too much to try to do, especially when there's different things going on all at once, which is commonly the case.

For the most part, I'm isolated from it since I pretty much work from my home. So, I'm hoping that as time goes on that I can help get the communication shorn up. But first, I just need to learn my job.

Mostly working from home would be nice, to be sure.

Yeah, it takes time to pick up on a new on job and even longer to get good at it. I am still in that learning stage in a lot of ways too. Most of what I do is easy enough. It is all putting stuff where it needs to go for the most part but there is also some clerical work that I am tasked with that can become a bit complicated if you don't know how to go about doing it.

My problem is too many managers but a lack of communication is also at the heart of it. I am frequently told to be at two different locations at the same time because two different managers have hatched their little (often poorly thought out) plans without consulting each other. I then must call one of them (usually the one that I'd like to work for more) so he can call the other and fight about who gets to use me. I should be promoted out of this "flexible" position in six to ten months from now but things are rather chaotic for the time being.

I used to work for a state agency, so I know about the levels of bureaucracy. Much prefer having only one to work with and try to figure out. :)

Well, I wish you well with the promotion out part. That sounds like it would be a better situation. Always has to be something. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25