You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Internet vs Itself

in #life7 years ago

Hi
It made for interesting reading and, as many have said, the graph is excellent (I'm sending it to a few business friends).

I liked what you said about steemit vs reddit, as it helped illustrate what you are explaining in simpler terms, but since I have a dismal understanding of the technical side, I'll only rebut the melancholic future you see by pointing out that people often behave according to emotional motivations, rather than just what they know is easier or to their disadvantage. All you have to do is take a look at the catastrophe that is Europe today and then wonder, why aren't the people trying to save themselves (or their kids), and the answer is simple: they've been repeatedly told it is the 'right' thing to do - in other words, again, their thinking is being dictated to by their emotions.

Am I being unrealistic (an idealist?) when I argue as I do?

Sort:  

Who knows. One thing I'm open to admitting is I don't know what the future will hold. Maybe I'm wrong and one day the decentralized alternatives will surpass the centralized ones.

It is possible, again because of human nature. We are seeing how having a momnopoly is affecting the large corps, so that they try to force their ideology on everyone through censorship. People are moving to the alt media and platforms, the technology not being the reason or athe most important factor. If the huge corps start to crumble, the new technology will gain momentum, but, the sad truth is, it in turn will change and become like the momoliths hey are replacing (as even seen here at Steemit, when Witness #1 punishes someone for being a writer of fiction and earning too much, but says that if she was writing about cryptocurrency, he would not only not take her money, but add to it).

That is the kind of arrogance killing the large platforms and I am sad to see it has started here this quickly. So, who knows....maybe there is and will forever be no stability, everything having its season and then disappearing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59189.63
ETH 2650.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42