Ever wanted to write a bestseller?

in #life6 years ago

This is going to be a series on how to think up and write bestselling books and stories!

Beginners’ frustrations:

We start out with such enthusiasm and great gusto.  

  • And after a few chapters we run out of ideas of what to say next. Our imagination had petered out. Such a blow to our fanciful ambition of becoming a famous writer! 
  • Or, after a while our facts get muddled and we can’t remember the background details we had first included in our story. This happens because we didn’t write often enough and didn’t keep sequence records of our facts. 

These are only some of the reasons why we lose interest and discontinue writing the story we once were so excited about.  

In your comments, you can tell us why you discontinued writing your story(s). What was it that stopped you, and why you became discouraged? 

Talking from experience:

I’ve started many a story, only to fade out after a few chapters. This gave me a great respect for those authors who wrote great stuff, and actually got their books published and become well-known authors. Such nerves of steel and wild imaginations they must have had, when they started out!! 

But having tried my hand at it, I’ve learnt a few things. What to do and what not to do. And I suppose I’m still learning more, as I strive to write up more stories.  

Keep in mind: Different types of stories need different ways of putting the plot together. And each author has their own pet way of doing it. In due cause I will discuss them. 

If you have never attempted writing before, 

And have no idea how to put things together… First collect your facts and put them in order. 

Why put things in order?

You will need all your wits about you as you write. You can’t afford to look silly when readers see your facts don’t ‘marry-up’ or line up correctly.  

  • Such as time scheduling: The wrong clue or item in the wrong place in the plot… that is who did what and when, etc. 
  • The logical flow of the story: Order of how and when the events occurred, etc. 
  • Without personal maps and diagrams to work from, your scenes will not sound plausible. You need visual diagrams, etc to plot your way around and within your story. I make pencil drawings where everything is placed in the scenes. 
  • Personality hiccups: You need to get the characters to suit the part they play. Having to remember why someone acts and does things they do. How they look, talk, and their behaviour patterns. So you write up a character profile of each person in the story. 
  • Muddling up relationships: Who was married to who, and how they were related (genealogy pedigree chart) or how they are connected in some way to others. And where they fit in the the sequence of the plot. 

Tip: Keep and slot all these facts and ideas in a folder or file, according to a time-line frame. 

There is so much on this topic, 

That I’ll have to continue writing lots more blogs on this topic.  

I’ll use the same icon image for each of these blogs, as above, so you can follow the series easily.  

The icon image depicts flying books, like they are flying off the shelves in the bookstores. And how people feel when they read your exciting books… they feel so uplifted they want to read more and more of your books. 

Sort:  

Wonderful tips here i assume a lot of hard work is the main key

Wonderful tips here
I assume a lot of hard
Work is the main key

                 - bankthecrypto


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hello. I'm from Manamine, a Korean media site. Your posting is so wonderful. May I translate it into Korean and post on Manamine site to share? Of course, I will write the original source. If possible, please reply to this comment. Thanks :)

You are welcome to translate it into the Korean language. But please say who you got it from, with a source link. I also have an art website: www.adafagan.co.za

A very extraordinary and very brilliant idea about the appeal of a book. I strongly agree with you on how to place the main idea in the logical sequence and style of writing that the reader likes and how to establish the story. Hello! Indeed experience has raised you as a professional writer, @atrguru. Thank you!

I think I've had to make a lot of mistakes, to learn lots more!

wise words @artguru i like how you explain to set things in perspective!
and A very expressive picture that inspires creativity and creativity in writing
great post

Having a visual plan, list of things, etc, helps you to keep on track as you write out your story's plot. It also gives you confidence to carry on writing your story.

Yes, you're right artguru

By reading your extra valuable post, I came to know that you are a writer. Not a simple writer but a great story teller who got huge experience in the world of writing.

Do you know? Few months ago, one line came into my mind and I wrote it on my diary as a QUOTE. Here it is:

A wordsmith can change the world.

Your ultra precious writing tips are applause. This is notable thing. Thanks for letting us know as there are numbers of Steemians who are not writer but random blogger (lowercase b).

Your quote is so true. Love it.
What I found so profound and exciting, when starting to write all those years ago was: Stringing words together to make a sentence, is mind boggling. Why? Because just changing the order of one or two words can give the whole sentence a whole new meaning. Same, if you change the tenses, put in comas, etc.
This makes writing such fun.

Your are pretty much right about sentence making sense. :)

Yaha this is very wonderful passion.Writers write by heart.It's a release. Writing is a great exercise for people who struggle with depression, anger issues or anxiety. Passion in the Reader.They create an intense focus on their words.Thanks for sharing this valuable post.Dear@artguru.

Yes passion does help when writing. But if you haven't got your facts orderly, you plot falls apart!

Writing stories is a great passion. Knowledge enhancing and skill development.

We all have a passion to write a great book(s). But when we get down to it, it's not so easy.
Having had my shot at it myself, I now know what others have had trouble with. So stick around and hear what else I have to give out, with my following 'Writing Books' blog series.

Time scheduling is main thing, I am not a writer but I type write others work. I am currently working on a biography. He has took his time to complete the script but as I am not a professional typist so I am taking much time due to my other stuffs.

Even when doing work for others, we learn a lot in the process.
Sometimes how not to do something!

Strongly agree! The author must systematically plan the storyline. In addition, large writers will always pay attention to 5W + 1H elements to complete the contents of the book.

It's more than: Who, What, etc. It's getting factual elements order right, plausible and authentic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76