Two Shocking and Interesting Things I Learned About Kids and Dogs 😱

in #life4 years ago (edited)

There's two weird things I learned today. Well at least for me it's weird on this side of the planet. 😅 I've never heard of them so both just blew my mind.

First let's talk about the shocking thing.

0is883.png



1. 8 Yr Old Boy Pays off Student Lunch Loans OF HIS ENTIRE SCHOOL!

Why on Earth would kids have lunch loans? WTF?! 😱

wjw3x4.png

First of all, normally if you get lunch or any food, you pay for it upfront. Kids do not have credit cards so they should be given cash. And yet I am shocked to learn in the US this is not the case. Why? Is it because the USA is a country of credits and credit cards and not cash?

It is simple enough in my opinion. This is why children here in our country are given what we call báon. Baon is either a small cash allowance or packed food (lunch, snacks or whatever) you take with or is given to you when traveling or going anywhere away from home. I'm sure bringing food to school is not prohibited, right?

And of course I expect the people from the back to say, "We are not rich! How can my kid pay for lunch when we don't even have enough money to survive?!" Yada yada yada. Uhm, how the heck are you able to send kids to school if you can't feed them? 🤔

I simply do not get how this has become a big issue/problem in the United States of America. Isn't it the supposed land of milk and honey, where people all over the world want to go and live for the rest of their lives? (I don't but the American dream is prevalent in third world countries like ours.)

No judgement here but it is shocking to discover what's going on in America. Get out of debt people and start earning money aside from having a job. As much as possible do not incur bad debt. Get a side gig, capitalize on your skill, buy and sell stuff legitimately, etc.

Easy to say but it's better to act on it than just complain and do nothing about our problems. This is something I just realized yesterday which is why I came up with this quote:

2who66.png


Anyway enough about that, let's talk about the interesting and surprising discovery of the day.


2. Make yarn out of your pet dog's fur! 😮

Oh wow, who knew you can use your pet dog's shedding long hair and make it into yarn!? I mean, for real? 😱

esodx5.png

I'm in a Facebook group of dog owners so I'm beginning to get back that dog lover feeling again. I've become too much of a cat lover but stray cats that poop on your doorstep everyday does something to you. (I've finally discovered how to make them stop so maybe it's time I write that ebook and sell it on Amazon eh? Hahaha!)

But in that local dog group, there was never any mention of dog fur. It might be because most of the people posting don't have top breed or expensive dogs. One day someone posted a pic of themselves with three big white dogs I've never seen before. That's when I first learned about the Samoyed breed.

And then surprise surprise, I was able to see and touch one for the first time last month! Wow! A 5 month old Samoyed is still big enough to hug and love. Awww, so flufeeeeh and sweet-natured! 😍

cogofu.png

And because I heard they don't shed much and are good pets for those allergic to fur, I joined a Samoyed FB group. (Not that I'm allergic or anything.) Voila! I find out those dogs are just like any normal dog that shed fur. 😂 To my surprise, today someone posted about gathering the dog hair and leaving it out for birds to use in their nests! Huh? But then some people said dog fur is dangerous to birds because they trip over and get their feet entangled then die. 💔

From that terrible comment, someone else then said why not make yarn out of the fur stack instead? Whoa what a shocker! Use dog fur for yarn? Seriously? A quick search online says IT IS something people can indeed do. Good Lord. 😅

4znqbi.png

Apparently dog fur yarn is called chiengora. How's that for word of the day huh? CHIENGORA! 😱 Of course only selected dog breed fur can be used but still, whoa!





Did you know about these two before you read my post? What can you say about both?

Ah, the online world is just amazing, I find out about things I never thought I'd know.

XOXO,
@artgirl



fvfkvm.jpg

7iix34.jpg

Read Philippine Condo Buying FAQs Here

Spam or irrelevant comments will be downvoted if not revised upon warning.

fzo8b444e7.jpg

Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance writer/artist, online seller and real estate agent. My Steemit posts may contain referral/affiliate/merchandise links.
Contact me for your art, Writing/Research & Metro Manila (NCR) property needs.

For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Steem.chat, Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

DeviantArt prints here.

msgqll.png

Order One Opti Juice on eBay.PH today!


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem/Share for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

I really don't think the lunch debt has anything to do with credit cards or actual debt... It's about families being unable to pay for their kids' lunches. It's a growing problem & very sad.
https://www.cnn.com/2020/02/04/us/boy-pays-off-lunch-debt-trnd/index.html
lunch.JPG
lunch2.JPG

Yes I wonder why they are not able to pay?

Many reasons. Poverty is probably the biggest. School is expensive. When families, especially single parent households, aren't making enough money, things get really difficult. Debt can be another huge factor. Child hunger is a growing problem in the US & Canada, more & more children are going hungry because food prices, tuition & other expenses keep increasing while wages either stay the same or decrease, maybe parents lose their jobs.

Food in the US is very cheap. I think the problem really lies in the fact that parents don't have time to pack a brown bag for their kids when they go to school. Again another problem is school children may feel embarassed when their friends see them with brown bags. They can be teased at or ridiculed for bringing baon.

I dunno. It's simple enough to not happen but it has become a problem. 🤷

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.632 which ranks you at #6247 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 6249).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 98 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63