And I walked a few kilometers to Nowhere: MyPictureDay

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So I planned my Saturday but not everything went as planned.

It's already past 1am Sunday now so yesterday was supposed to be the day I and a friend would go to another (preggy) friend's house for a visit. The other one bailed at the last minute before I could tell them I was bailing. Good timing eh?

I was supposed to go to the bank too and get my new EMV (Europay, Mastercard and Visa) atm card. Didn't bring my "old" card with me because I couldn't find it. The bank is in Taguig while I live in Quezon City. That's 13kms away according to Google Maps.
Screenshot_2018-04-22-00-16-04-053_com.google.android.apps.maps.png

Thirteen kilometers. Sounds and looks so near and yet it can take more than an hour to get there because of how I got there. No I didn't take the taxi or Uber, er Grab I mean, because I didn't feel like wasting money.

You ever get those days when you don't feel like yourself? This was one of those days.

My brain isn't as good as it used to be or maybe I'm just not feeling like myself like I said. Like I'm a zombie, walking and observing my body just doing it's thing.

I was debating on getting off Buendia MRT or Guadalupe MRT so I can walk to Kalayaan and ride an FX to Taguig. My brain chose Buendia. It said I will just walk a bit and reach Kalayaan in a few minutes. So I walked there from Buendia MRT.

And I walked in the hot summer sun even if I didn't have an umbrella.

Then I saw a big Telus which is a faraway building. I saw MMDA sidewalk painters and they were looking at me, walking the sidewalk. That still didn't give me a clue, I continued to walk. Along the way I saw a Macopa fruit on the sidewalk. Looking up, there was the Macopa tree overhanging the high sidewalk wall with some more macopa fruits hanging and yet I didn't bring out my phone to take a picture. I walked on, thinking how it was a waste not being able to reach up and take some fruits.

Hey before I ever got to Makati, before I rode a tricycle getting out of our apartment, I saw the Aratelis tree near the waiting area was already showing ripening fruits.

For some reason the tricycles weren't taking me for a ride outside. A lot of empty tricycles passed me by, that should've given me a clue not to leave at all and yet I persisted. While waiting for a tricycle to ride, I grabbed onto two branches to get the ripe aratelis fruits. Yum. Long time no eat. I could only see two so I only got two to eat.

Here's an unripe one hanging low.

IMG_20180421_132813.jpg

So anyway I was eventually able to ride a tricycle then remembered I forgot to take my used clothes to the laundry shop but nevermind. I rode a jeepney, another jeepney and then walked to the GMA Kamuning MRT and so yeah I mentioned I was already walking along EDSA earlier going to Kalayaan, only to realize too late that I was walking towards Ayala/South and not to Guadalupe/Kalayaan/North.

When I realized it, it was really too late. I was too far from where I came from. Might as well just walk some more to get to the other side of the road and ride a bus to Kalayaan to make it easier to drop off there.

There was an MMDA vehicle at the side of the road before I could turn to Ayala Avenue, maybe repairing or just stopping for a time. I felt like they were looking at me while I was still far away and before I passed them.

Was glad the afternoon sun gave shade to the sidewalk I had been on. When I got to Ayala, I realized there was no pedestrian near the turn, so I walked some more. Walk walk walk into the underpass we go. No, no pictures still, I didn't bring out my phone because I was not a tourist even if there were pink, white and yellow bougainvilleas along the way. No, no pictures.

So down the underpass I went and up and finally walking into Glorietta Mall. Oh yes finally some cool air-conditioning. And overhead I see the Planet X comic shop again. Long time no see Glorietta.

This was my route to Glorietta, boy it's my first time documenting how long I've walked to somewhere.

Screenshot_2018-04-22-00-20-34-711_com.google.android.apps.maps.png

And so I continued to walk towards the direction of SM Ayala Mall to get to the MRT and overpass and ride a bus. When I got past SM Ayala and into the Ayala MRT station, I got some sundae cone from KFC, my favorite ice cream in the world because it was so creamy, and they had some free WiFi too so I stopped to rest, ate the ice cream and did my Bitlanders quests. That was 30 minutes of free WiFi so off we go.

I went out and down the other side of the overpass and rode a bus to Kalayaan. Bagani was showing on the bus TV. Lakas was taken prisoner and was being sold as a slave. It was on CineMo channel I think.

Then it was time to drop off at Kalayaan. I walked again, going to the end of the Kalayaan flyover. Well look at that.

Screenshot_2018-04-22-00-47-43-546_com.google.android.apps.maps.png

500m already huh? So I saw the familiar sight of an FX waiting for people to fill it. I went in and paid the fare and prayed the vehicle would already get full so we could leave and I could reach the bank in time. When it got full we went on our merry way, finally reached the building where the bank is so I dropped off.

Just in time before the bank closed I went in and got a form. Filled up the bank form they gave me, it's like a new application form but it's not. Anyway I filled it up and then was told to go to the designated people to be assisted.

I told the teller/assistant/handler that I don't have my atm card but have my IDs. They told me in order to get the new EMV atm card I had to have the old one so the new one could be reactivated. Cricket sounds

Well what else could I say? I said they didn't reply to my email inquiring about what if I didn't have my card so I just traveled there anyway. They then told me if I didn't have the card then just pay for a replacement of the "missing" card so I can get the new EMV card. Why they couldn't just issue an EMV card without my old card is a mystery.

I agreed to get a replacement but they told me I will get it by Wednesday. I thought, Are you kidding me? Do you know how lost I got just trying to get here? But I didn't tell them that. Of course. It was my fault anyway.

In the end I just took home the replacement card form and went out. Saw the Burger King out front and went in to pee. Yeah what a relief. So off I went out the building to the other side of the road to ride a jeepney going to Guadalupe.

Of course stupid! I should've just initially got off Guadalupe MRT earlier instead of Buendia and rode the jeepney going to the bank to make my life easier. I always take the hard route for some reason. Hello masochistic tendencies? Is that you? Brain, are you there?

So then I got to ride the jeepney to Guadalupe, rode the MRT and got off Cubao station. Hey I was going to watch Ready Player One so Gateway here I come!

Screenshot_2018-04-22-01-12-57-371_com.google.android.apps.maps.png

Another 500m! Whew.

I walked from Farmer's Mall to Gateway Mall. Look at the surrounding area of Gateway and Smart Araneta Center, there's a deep excavation. I wonder if another condominium or commercial building will rise up from here.

IMG_20180421_174031.jpg

So then when I got to Gateway, it was still an hour before the movie showing I was gonna catch, plenty of time to... Oh yeah I remember I had to go to Globe and have the KYC done to activate my Paypal to GCash thing. Yeah so I did. Good thing there was free WiFi and I didn't wait too long.

I got KYC'd and then just had to wait for my Gcash to be verified so I went ahead and went to the movie ticket line at the higher floor. 10 minutes to start time, I was in a long ticket line because there were only two available tellers out of four. Whew. In ten minutes I bought my ticket, then I bought some popcorn, went to the restroom and finally got inside cinema 2.

Wow, it already started without me. No more trailers these days? Oh well. So I sat to my assigned seat and enjoyed the show for about 2hrs. Mmmm such a visual treat. So much geekiness but...spoiler alert














I've never seen The Shining but since I also am not a horror fan like one of the characters, it was kinda creepy watching the scenes.

So anyway movie over, I got out of my seat and walked from Gateway to Alimall. Omg suddenly my right foot was hurting while I walked. I wonder why. And yet I still walked so I can take a jeepney home.

Btw, the good thing about not having enough cash is you don't get to spend much when you see anything, however I had my ATM card so unfortunately I withdrew P500 so I could watch the movie and buy some grub too. Ugh.

Screenshot_2018-04-22-01-25-25-983_com.google.android.apps.maps.png

Oh look, 700m. So before i rode a jeepney I ate some dinner at 7-11 a few meters away. Was supposed to buy some Heineken beer because the movie made me remember Babs but I chose some soya milk with collagen instead. Probably the healthier choice eh?

After eating I finally made it back in front of the bus station where the jeepneys also dropped off and took passengers. I waited for quite a while before I could get a ride. And then after that ride I walked some more going to another street to ride another jeepney. When I got off that jeepney I walked some more to ride a tricycle. At this point I thought I could get a massage at the nearby spa but alas my money was not enough so into the tricycle I went.

And then I was home sweet home! Oh yeah.

The sedentary life is truly not good for you. Sedentary + some sudden kilometer walking surely is how I get healthier eh? No i will not count how many meters or kilometers I walked for my right foot to hurt. Huh, this is new, my foot hurting from walking. Tsktsk.

I'd rather my foot hurt than my heart. I feel like I just wasted my time, if not for the movie and GCash thing. Psh.

My feet is still hurting so I drank two glasses of water when I got home, lounged down and composed this for more than an hour. Now I will go and take a shower and hopefully sleep early.

Ciao!
@artgirl


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

Image/s are mine except the screencapped images from Google Maps.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a sales person. Currently an agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

I thought you walk 13km :-D

No way. 😛

Nag roundtrip ang lola mo ah hahaha

Yan feeling lola tuloy sakit ng paa ko. Haha

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 106 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow amazing! thanks!

Ang haba naman ng diary mo haha! Dapat pala lumabas din ako at pumunta sa bank kunin ung card ko din.

Haha naku ewan nasapian yata ako bat ba ako lumabas nun. Hahaha. Until June p nmn daw pala ung sa'kin e d saka ko na asikasuhin. Kapagod. 😂😂😂

Ay ang daya ba't gang June? Samantalang sabi gang April lang. Anyway. Bukas punta na ako hopefully mas kunti tao.

Di ko lam dun s bank... yun sabi sa'kin eh. :D Hehe, sige baka konti n yan kasi Tue.

Kindly change your comment to something related to my post or I am flagging/downvoting you.

Please read the FAQ section on proper Steemit etiquette.


Warning Phishing Link!
  • Do Not Click on Bad Links
    They Steal Account.

  • 그들은 계정을 훔치는 나쁜 링크를 클릭하지 마십시오. !

  • Jangan klick Tuatan Buruk , mereka curi akun kamu

If you have provide your password to the link , make sure you change your password immediately!

No worries. Thank you!

I have spoken to you before
Have I?
Anyway here one for you.

Yes u have. 👍 Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69