When Little Dogs Do Wrong

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is Tilly, my 7-year-old niece. She's a big dog in a tiny body who thinks the world belongs to her! Surprise! Dogs are like kids...LOL!

Her Mommy has health issues so we go adventuring together, out into the "wilds" of our city. Walking along the river she makes friends with ducks and dogs alike. She's normally a very sweet dog, until she meets a jerk, then she turns into a junk yard dog. Just like her "Taunty"!

Small dogs never really interested me until I met this little ball of fluff. She has captured my heart, which is why I'm sharing this today. We know that kids, dogs and horses all need boundaries to be happy. And we all know that excersise and sunshine are important not only for our physical but for our mental health too.

Tilly has been stuck inside for almost a month. Mean old Taunty has been very busy and thought Mommy was feeling better, so we haven't been adventuring. This normally very well behaved dog has been pooping on the floor, getting into the garbage and chewing things other than her toys. I chalked it up to PMS... she has her times, just before she comes into heat, where she's just not herself.

Last night, while playing her "growly tug of war" game she bit her Mom's lip. I was there. It was no accident. And she continued to growl while she was being given "words". In the six years and 4 months that I've known this puppy she has NEVER acted like this. I'm hoping she's just trying to tell us she's not happy. I guess it's time for some more adventures and then we shall see if that's her issue. I hope it's not a health problem.

I also tend to wonder if it's the way she's allowed to play. I don't have a dog right now, because we can't afford a surprise vet bill, but in the past I've never allowed "growling, snapping and snarling" type of play. I think it blurs the line of what's acceptable. However..... some "Mommys" think it's funny and encourage it. I don't know, I'm not an expert, but I think the dog would have a hard time deciphering what's acceptable and what's not.

What are your thoughts?

Until next time friends....

Coffee Hour

.

.

@vj1309 ....Tag! You're it.

.

.

Sort:  
Loading...

Maybe the puppy is just trying to play.. We have a dog here and he does that to play, too. They would even have boxing fight with my dad. And he would try to kind of bite my papa's fist.. HAHA :D But, just keep an eye on the puppy..

If someone stuck me in the house for a month I would probably be a little crazy too :) That being said, that game that she is allowed is not really advisable. Lose that game and give her some regular fresh air and she will be her regular self in no time. Good luck.

Sure looks cute and I hope the biting was just a bad day and only a one time thing

Thanks @tattoodjay! I took for a good long walk that day...... and a couple days later. So far so good. Her mom has been crating her again (this is how she was trained as a puppy) when she goes out. And has NOT been allowing growly, snappy games. Time will tell.

Hoping for the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80