You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Should We Find Responsible For The Subprime Mortgage Lending Crisis?

in #life8 years ago

I bought my new home in 2005 the height of the housing boom. Barely. The company that was building the house went through Countrywide. I actually had issues getting approved for the loan only because I insisted on a fixed rate. Seems like nobody was doing that during the time ;-) Well they finally gave in and I got qualified. I had no idea what was going on, I just felt that what they were trying to push didn't make a whole lot of sense. Although the house dropped to about half of what I paid I was never upside down and I still live in it. The house is gradually creeping up to break even.

I guess to answer the question I feel that ultimately the issue rests on the buyer. But hopefully people learned a lesson. Maybe not if they got bailed out. I enjoyed the article.

Sort:  

Countrywide

Ouch, pretty sure they were hit one of the worst when the bubble popped directly because of massive amounts of subprime loans. Im glad that you didnt get hosed and you were smart enough to request a fixed rate. I never understood why people go with floating rates for such a long term investment. I want to know EXACTLY how much ill be paying and whether or not I can pay it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45