Done or Perfect?

in #life6 years ago

photo-1492529029602-33e53698f407.jpg
Photo by Alice Wu on Unsplash

What's more important to you? Done or Perfect?

I was a perfectionist at my core. No one could see my work until it was 100% polished. I was unable to present in front of crowds of people until I had the best-looking power point. It even went as far as not being able to get my girlfriend a gift because there wasn't just "the right one" for her.

What happened?

I realized that in my life, I have focused so much on making sure that every little thing is perfect instead of making sure it's DONE. Missed opportunities. A lot of them.

Learn from me.

Being a perfectionist means you're throwing yourself into the perfectionist death loop. Catch yourself when you're there. You'll feel it in your body before your mind can pick up on it. Take a look at what standards you are holding for yourself while you're trapped in the loop and ask yourself why?

If you can't find a sufficient answer, you're striving, stretching, burning yourself out...for nothing.

I'm not saying to completely drop your standards... You know, things like never showering again because the world should put up with my rank or submit half-assed posts that literally look like a toddler sat on your keyboard. Instead, take a realistic approach and find the why.

If you can come up with a solidified reason to why your perfectionism is needed, gung-ho. If you can't though...drop the act.

  • Steezy
Sort:  

Thank you @hr1 and @theyasemin! I appreciate you guys using your Steem to upvote this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63