Where is that chicken?

in #life7 years ago

IMG_5949.JPG

 Whenever I've made chicken soup in the past, it always had something missing. Then, one day a neighbor friend of mine, yea, another old guy, and I were walking through his garden. I saw a vegetable I didn't recognise. What's that, I inquired inquisitively? Oh that, that's fennel he said. I had heard of fennel seed, as I use it, whenever I make sausage, but never really knew much about the plant. He pulls one out and says here, take it, they are great in soup and salads. I cook with it all the time. I tasted it right there. It was a bit unusual, but something about the taste was familiar. He went on to tell me, that It is also good for colic in babies, and heartburn, and digestive problems in adults.

Not thinking too much more about it, we finished walking the garden. I admired all his growings. His garden is far larger than mine, and he has been growing for over forty years. He has at least three different varieties of everything he grows. And let me add, he has a very healthy, organic garden.
So anyway, I took the fennel home and froze it. The very next chicken soup I made, I added the frozen fennel. I used about half as much fennel, as I did celery. It was perfect. Now I always add fennel, as it gives the soup a finished touch, that our family and friends seem to really enjoy.
Last night I roasted a rather large chicken for dinner. With five of my six children out of the house, I am still learning to cook, in smaller quantities. I haven't quite mastered it yet. lol. Normally, there wouldn't be a scrap of meat on the bone, but as I said, most of them live on their own now. I took the carcass, legs, wings, and stripped all the meat, and put it in a big pot of water. Even the skin and pan dripping went in. I added salt, pepper, fennel seed, anise seed, thyme, rosemary, basil, a good helping of parsley, and a little granulated garlic. I let it boil on high for about an hour, and then low boil, for one more. I wanted every ounce of stock from the carcass, I could get. Also every so often, I used a teaspoon, and tasted the broth. It seems I always need to add more salt. lol
I broke apart the meat, cut up an onion, some celery, and some fresh garlic, and set them aside until it was time to add them to the spiced up stock. When the boiling was finished, I put my big metal colander into another large pot sitting in the sink, and poured the hot broth into the colander to drain. Then I put the strained broth back on the stove, and added the chicken meat, onion, garlic, and celery. I simmered it for two more hours until dinner. I added a small bag of pasta stars, to have chicken noodle soup. When the carcass cooled , I went over it again, taking out whatever more meat there was that I could salvage. The skin, and all the less desireable stuff, went into a bowl for the dog. The smooth naked bones will find there way into the wood later for the wildlife. I try my very best, never to waste any part of a once living creature who gave their life for my sustenance. Well there you have it. My don't ask, don't tell chicken soup.

IMG_5951.JPG

IMG_5952.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @arjane! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

good post i live it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66