You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About GENDER

in #life7 years ago

what a post..thanks at @shayne..this is one topic that is always delicate when discoursed. i remember my first gender psychology class i had( am a student of psychology here in Nigeria) it shifted from being a lecture to an argument class. your words
"... because in their culture the women were the ones who gathered the wood, and in their eyes these European men were behaving like women."
reminds me of a personal experience. i came to the tap to Fitch water,a young lady walked up to me and asked that i should please come and kill/chase out lizard for her and in my defense not go,i told her that i am also afraid of lizards. then came responds that surprised and made me laugh at the same time.."tofiaa,i buru Nwoke."..meaning ..(shame)you are not a man. then after,i said to my self,dose killing a poor lizard make me more manish(if there is a word like that.) so the concur to what you rightly pointed out,gender is both biologically and culturally defined. nice one sir..

Sort:  

Does that make me "masculine" if I think lizards are cool, and wouldn't kill one? :0

but seriously, who kills lizards???
and they're so skittish, they run away if you just look at them lol
makes them hard to catch ; w ;)

my drear..just to show you cultural aspect of gender...liked your comment,just followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59112.75
ETH 2519.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47