Our (Secret) Pleasure for Tragedies

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A tragedy (as long as it's not ours) brings something new to our always-the-same daily lives. It breaks our routine and also gives us the feeling and remember us how fragile our life is.

I started to watch Black Mirror this weekend. It was quite heavy for me. It doesn't show violence, shots, blood but the effect is quite similar. It shocks you just showing the reality of our society. I loved the production though but still couldn't make it to the third episode. You have to be strong to be able to digest everything and watch the episodes in sequence like we like to do with a show we really like.

But if you've watched the show and read the title of this post, maybe you understand why the reference. For you that haven't watched or don't quite remember, the first episode called "The National Anthem" talks about a princess' kidnap. And the rescue they asked for her life is to have a video of the prime-minister of England being broadcast live to the whole country. In this video he has to be performing an intercourse with a pig. More disturbing than this is that at the end of the episode, the population forgets about the kidnapping, and the whole country is gathered together in front of TVs, laughing, drinking beer to watch the disturbing transmission like they watch a world cup final game.

This made me wonder why humans love tragedies and bad news so much. Videos of violence, people getting hurt or dying always receive tons of views on youtube and goes viral on facebook and it seems like that warning saying that "the images we are about to see contain graphic that might be disturbing for some people" just makes us more excited to see it.

Every time I see something bad on TV, no matter the nature of it, I always have a thought on my mind: Journalists love a good tragedy. The more people involved the better. The bigger the dimensions of the tragedy, more people in front of the TVs. I see their super serious faces but I know they are super excited inside. That guarantees them a script for the whole month: "How did it happened [in details], who where those people, who are their families, the international coverage, what the president said about, an update of what is being done about it days after the incident". They even might have a checklist of how they can explore the fact so they can have a break from searching topics to talk about.

But they only explore tragedies to the bones because we love it. Because we stop what we are doing to watch it. Some research says we like to have the feeling that we are luckiest than those people on bad situations. Other says that it's the adrenaline that the brain releases when we watch something scary, like a video or a picture. But I have another theory. I think we like to see something extra-ordinary happening in our lives. Every day people do the same things: wake up, have breakfast, work, come back home, do something else and go to sleep. A tragedy (as long as it's not ours) brings something new to their lives. It breaks their routine and also give them the feeling of how fragile our lives is. Good news don't give us the same feelings. It makes feel good, but comparing to bad news it only last for a few minutes. We forget them fast. Bad news stick on our brains. We keep thinking about it for days. Try to remember about the last good news you heard on TV. Now try to remember the bad one. The bad one is way easier to remember. First of all, because it obviously sells more. More than the half of the topics on the news are bad news. Second because it's just easier to remember. Maybe it's an ancestral thing that makes us keep remember about the danger while good news doesn't offer any risk so we can't relax and forget about it.

What do you think? What is the reason for our pleasure for tragedies?
Sort:  

I think that tragedy taps into some part of our brain that wants to learn from the misfortune of others. Perhaps this is hardwired for us -- on a lower cognitive level, how would you get a brain to pay attention to bad things that happened to other people unless it was rewarding in some way? Perhaps our sense of interest is actually an evolutionary thing in that if it feels rewarding to pay attention to the tragedy others experience, then you do it, and in the process maybe you learn something that helps you escape that same tragedy next time.

how would you get a brain to pay attention to bad things that happened to other people unless it was rewarding in some way?

This definitely makes sense. Very interesting point of view. I see that is a way more complex issue than I thought.

I am often astounded at the complexity of behavior present in the animal world -- most of it driven by forces that the animals don't understand at all.

I remember watching my puppy "bury" bones in couch cushions -- she would "dig" the cushions out, then "push' non-existent dirt back and forth and tamp it down with her muzzle -- all with a distant, vacant look on her face. Obviously no clue what she was doing, but something in her brain said do it, and it probably felt rewarding to do it although she had no clue why.

Our cats would go from wary to extremely cuddly when they went into heat -- making it feel good is how nature convinces them to get close enough to random strangers to procreate.

I suspect there is a lot more programming going on in our brains than we all want to admit -- we'd rather paste some cerebral, intellectual reason over the top of it, because no one wants to think about us running on autopilot.

Black mirror is intense.
Everyone should watch it.

I absolutely agree!

I think memetics can explain: tragedy usually contains info related to your survival. :-)

Thanks for the reference! :)

Awesome article.

I find myself guilty of these kind of things, but in a different way. I have a monotonous life, and even tho I love it, because I'm working on the things I enjoy most, I like to see different things happening. I like chaos.

I do not enjoy seeing people being hurt or even killed in those kind of tragedies, but I do like to see the chaos they provoke.

For example, a few years ago, on the place I live right now, there was one of the biggest storms I have ever seen. People in their cars had to stop on the street because it was impossible for them to continue, trees fell down and everything looked like the entire world would break.

I was happy about what was happening. I saw chaos, and I saw the world around me getting more and more afraid of the power of the nature. That storm provoked so much chaos, and brought something so new to my life, that I just loved it. I was screaming, internally, that I want to see more, and that I want more chaos, while hoping no one gets hurt.

Maybe I would've not love it so much if someone would've been hurt, but since that didn't happen, for me, that was amazing.

I think every person has a way of seeing tragedies or natural disasters as "good", not because of the people that die, but because of the "new" that the disaster bring to the world. I think that happens because the world is boring, and we're already used to see everything being okay and nice.

I think we like to see disasters because we love seeing new things. I don't think we're actually happy for all the people that die. We just like the "new".

Anyway, thanks for the article and for the recommendation, I will watch Black Mirror as soon as I have some time! :)

Thank you for your perspective. We do have a fascination for chaos and reading your reply I see how it sort of is important for us. We made our world so boring and sistematic that chaos and tragedies provide the spontaneity that lacks in our lives sometimes. And it's funny because at the same time chaos fascinates us because it shakes us a little from our reality, we need to fight against this feeling because we are expected to mourn when it happens and not look like psychos that like to see bad things happening! I believe the media explores it so much exactly because we don't know how to deal with it. Like when a hurricane is approaching. I bet everybody wants to see it gaining power! We love to see the reporter blowing his hair and clothes in the wind. But when the hurricane"surprisingly" starts losing power everybody fakes a "good, good, thank goodness!"

Great read, thank you! And do watch all the seasons of Black Mirror, it´s amazing!

Thank you! I will! Two episodes were already mind-blowing and disturbing. I wonder what's coming next!

The darker the dark, the lighter the light.

If we were bombarded with tragedy every day we would be a very depressed lot. Maybe digesting other people's pain helps us better understand when we have to endure a crisis. Thanks for posing the question 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34