You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Crap I Put Up with Because I’m a Girl in IT

in #life8 years ago (edited)

We have a long way to go before the entire Earth is full of androgynous people with the same haircut wearing identical gray jumpsuits and filling whatever roles they want to.

When people see me, a dude, they assume I'm not a cheerleader and my cooking is mediocre. Solely because I'm a dude. (I'm not actually a cheerleader, but I cook awesomely.) When my daughter has a badass hairdo, they assume my wife did it. And when I tell them I'm the hair expert, that makes me less of a man, not more.

If you choose to work in a primarily male-occupied field doing a typically male-done job, that just comes with the territory. Every job has pros and cons, and being a woman in a male field is just one of the cons (or a pro in a few cases). Since you're a smart girl who can handle herself in the IT universe, you probably weighed the pros and cons of this career and decided that the pros far outweigh crap like this.

Sure, in many, many years, society will reach this neutered androgynous state where there are no such thing as gender norms, and sex-based discrimination and expectations don't exist, but that's a long ways off. In the mean time, doesn't collecting decent paychecks and being an IT badass outweigh dealing with a relatively small number of assholes compared to the number you'd have to deal with if you were an actual receptionist?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70