You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Strategic Detachment

in #life5 years ago

I tried this or something similar to this, and it does miracles. And you're right, it's very very difficult to achieve this detachment at first - especially if we are stuck in that emotional state for a while and it completely blinded us, not letting see past these intense feelings

Sort:  

Hi @araksa-dragonkey, Yes, it takes an enormous amount of practice and patience with oneself. With practice however, it does start to become easier. The more I have practiced, the more I have become aware of the choices in front of me, the more choices I recognize in the moment, the more I am empowered to make better choices for myself. When I first began, CBT (in my case, I did self-therapy) really helped me to recognize my own jaded perspectives and to work through my own pain. I used Dr. Brown's book and workbook(Feeling Good). That really was a gateway for me back then and helped me tremendously. Having said all that, even the most practiced individual, is still human, No one is impervious. I was recently listening to a talk by Thich Nhat Hanh. In this talk, he was mentioning how monks are never supposed to go anywhere alone. In one situation, he found himself alone and ended up being caught in a moment of high emotion. Fortunately, he was able to recover from the situation and everything turned out OK. I liked his example, because it showed me that the most practiced among us, even our teachers, still have their own struggle. It also highlighted how important it is to surround ourselves with, interact with like-minded individuals. We can all support each other and be there for each other. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67