[Whole30 Diet] Day 1

in #life8 years ago

My first morning started out well enough. I'm choosing not to eat sugar, dairy, legumes or grains as part of the Whole30 plan to reset and heal my body for 30 days. I should mention that I don't really drink alcohol, smoke or eat tons of overly processed food so my results may be more mild compared to someone with more of that in their life. My goal is to heal my ridiculously slow digestive system and have more energy.

While rushing to get ready for a funeral I was able to make a green smoothie.

Banana
Kale
Almonds
Apple
Frozen Mango

By afternoon I felt a mild headache setting in and made a point to drink more water. I made a salad for lunch and topped it with homemade whole30 friendly ranch dressing. Should I add that I ate a huge roasted beet with 'ranch' in addition to this salad? Because I did and it was awesome.

Dressing: Olive oil, coconut milk, red wine vinegar, garlic and onion powder, fresh cilantro

This diet (and the dressing) allows for consumption of eggs but I've heard that eggs can cause inflammation so have not included them in the diet for day 1. After more research I may change my mind.

I also felt a bit more tired than I had anticipated so I did take a nap. I woke up with the same mild headache, which I can only assume is due to some weird sugar withdraw. I'm glad it's very mild today.

For dinner I roasted a chicken with ghee (it's the only form of butter allowed due to it having no lactose).

I snacked on fruit today too which was nice because the baby was eating more fruit with me - and that always feels like a major mom win.

Here's hoping that tomorrow goes just as well!

Thanks for reading! 😊

Sort:  

Hello @aprilangel,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Doing great so far and it was only day 1!

Just had to give up a delicious, family buffet-style lunch to do it! 😢

😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40