[POEM] The Failing of Our Love

in #life8 years ago

I wrote this poem before taking an artistic hiatus. Which is a nice way of saying I shut down. It felt really good to write at the time though and I captured the feeling well. Now that I'm reconnecting with my creative self, I thought I'd let this see the light of day.

Hope you enjoy!

The Failing of Our Love

I wanted you to fall apart

For it to feel like

the Eiffel Tower collapsing
or a felling of the Hudson Dam

an earthquake crumbling Macchu Picchu
and a child magic markering the Book of Kells

I wanted you to notice

To rewrite the history of your life

I wanted the failing of our love
To feel like Hurricane Katrina
-with no eyelash batting FEMA to save you

I wanted you to fashion a raft
from the gifts, paintings and memories

I wanted you to float on those
for a while

and feel Hungry

and Thirsty

and Lost

I wanted you to miss me

As much as I miss you

Sort:  

Much appreciated! Thank you for this.
Imgur

Ha...😊

Thank YOU❣

I've lived this poem, but to capture it so poignantly...your mind took a backseat to your spirit and let it write this.

Thank you! Best compliment ever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63