"Apupu, bye bye.."

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm moving out from the apartment in which I have been living for the past four years and three months. I was actually excited about the idea of getting a new place. It's gonna be a refreshing start, I told myself. But when it gets closer to the date, there is a heavy emotion overwhelming me. It's not because of the fact that I am moving further from city centre, but being apart from people who are so dear to me.

When I just moved in this place, my housemates were only a Vietnamese couple. They were preparing to have their first child. The wife is Trang, she hates accounting and now working as an accountant. The husband is Quan, he is a former lead singer of a boyband named The Micro Wave in Vietnam, and now working as an architect. "They seem to be nice and friendly".. that's what I thought of them. "She is lesbian".. that's what they thought of me.. and they only confessed to me, a year after that.

And then Trang gave birth to a boy, Louis, his nickname is Hat De, meaning Chestnut in Vietnamese. There is a story behind it. Trang and Quan found out the news of having Louis while watching The Ice Age.. and the scene of the squirrel chasing his beloved "chestnut" was repeated throughout the movie.. so much of up and down, just like how they were trying to have Louis. Our Louis is such a bright boy. At age of 1, he would sing the entire A,B,C song, count from 1-10 and remember names of all animals in his flash cards. Louis has a great curiosity for life. He has his fingers on every pies. "Why do you know that dinosaur does not exist anymore?" "Why bad guys always have to look so ugly?" "Why do you wear that to go out?" .. Yup.. Even with Google, I don't have the right answers to all of his questions. We have some inner jokes that only us would understand and some silly games that only us would know the rule. And he calls me "Apple girl".. Oh dear, I truly believe that this sweet boy will get any girl's heart when he's grown-up. He got mine wholeheartedly.

IMG_2179.JPG

Two years after that, not in Trang and Quan's plan, but a girl named Louisa was born. Her nickname is Hat Vung, meaning Sesame in Vietnamese. Louisa is a tricky witty little sweetheart. She is only 1 and a half year now, but she knows how to play us around and drive us nut. She has that melting-sugary voice whenever asking for favours from us. Trust me, it's irresistible. Her favourite song is Rain Rain Go Away.. For a whole day, she would just sing "Zen Zen Goo Awai.." This chipmunk is real skilful with her hands. She is able to loosen, tighten, open, close, wrap and unwrap whatever things that catch her attention. With the little dimples on her cheeks and romping laughters, she brightens up even my shittiest days. Always before leaving home for work, I will look for a little cheeky pie running to me, "Apupu, bye bye" and flying kiss. My day is simply made and my heart is absolutely taken.

This year, completely unplanned, we are expecting a September girl. Her name is not yet finalised but her nickname at home is gonna be Hat Ke, meaning Millet in Vietnamese. It's really brave of them to stick with that decision of having a third child, as Singapore is always in the list of world's most expensive cities.. A lot of sacriface and commitment that they will need to make, but "With love, everything will be alright", Trang said. I shall agree with her. I'm not sure what characteristics that our Millet girl's gonna carry, but I know that, I will love her as much as I love the other two.

Only if I would put it in words.. how grateful I am to be a part of their family. Although Quan's boyband's name is kinda random, his voice is absolutely beautiful and his band were indeed popular back then. I would not mind to be waken up on early Sunday morning by him singing in the living-room. Although Trang appears a little sassy and bossy in character, she owns a heart made of gold. I was an emo kid when we first met. It might be the reason why she mistook my sexual orientation lol, but it's alright. Her positive vibe has guided me through a lots of phases in life. Life is full of wonderful connections, like puzzles. It seems like everyone happen in your life for a reason, to come and stay, to come then leave, to deliver a message, to take something away, to pull you down or raise you up, whatever makes you who you're meant to be.. The best things on earth are free, so are love and kindness.

Alright! Perhaps let's not be dramatically emotional as Trang & Quan's new place is indeed only half an hour away from me, by bus. I just wonder if they're gonna be on Steemit one day, to read this lengthy post. I believe they will..

  • [ ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58271.24
ETH 3134.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22