Why I Packed Up My Family and Moved, Lock, Stock and Barrel to Panama, of All Places - Part 1

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Since joining Steemit, I have been asked many times (@goldendawne, @ethandsmith, @enchantedspirit (also the one who gave me the post title)) why we chose to move our entire family to Panama. In this post, I want to establish a little background about our decision. In Part 2, I will go more in detail about the reasons.

Five years ago, if you would have told me that I would move my family to Panama, I would have told you that you were crazy. Years ago I did mission work in Toluca, Mexico and I felt, at the time that would be the last and only time I would be living internationally. I definitely never intended to move my children away from the great state of Texas.

In May of 2015, my husband presented the idea of moving when we were on a car ride to a wedding. I thought he was insane and I was furious. As a matter of fact, any time after he brought it up for months, I would not talk to him for the rest of the day. I knew he had been researching this for months before bringing it up that day, but I figured it was just a fluke idea, nothing really to worry about, an “exit” plan just in case we needed one.

Around that same time, we found out some life changing events had happened in our extended family. @panamapilgrim told me that maybe God would use that event to help me realize that a move to Panama would be good for us. Later on that year, that, along with a few other things, was exactly what happened. I was able to step back from the situation and see that Panama was possibly a good choice for us and we both felt like we had a “green light” to move forward.

p4.jpg

In February of 2016, my husband went on a scouting trip to Panama. He went with his dad and they were there for about ten days. During that time, he was able to check out a few different towns, see a few different houses and meet with a lot of local expats to talk about the possibility of us moving there.

His initial goal was to start a corporation and open a bank account so that it would be easy for us to apply for visas when we brought the family for a visit. He was able to meet with a lawyer and start a corporation, but the bank account did not work out and would have to be done on the next visit. Another thing he did was find a property he really liked in one of the towns. The rest of the trip went fine and he enjoyed meeting other expats in the area.

When he returned home, he showed me pictures from his trip. These included the home that he really thought would work for his plan of building a neighborhood. At that point, he made an offer to the owner and we had a contract…all before the kids and I had even visited!

p2.jpg

In April of that year, we were able to get a great deal ($203 round trip per person) on Spirit airlines to fly to Panama City. We scheduled the trip in less than two weeks and we were off. Upon arriving in the middle of the night, we tried to decide if we wanted to stay at a hotel or just drive the eight hours to Boquete. We decided to drive. It was the dumbest and the smartest decision all in one. The kids slept almost the entire way and woke up when we were almost there. Then again, we were incredibly tired after having been awake all night long as well.

The ten days we had in Panama went well. We enjoyed the nice weather and friendly expats. We got to see the beach and mountains. We were also able to acquire our resident visas during this trip and fly back to Texas with those in hand. We were now residents of Panama living in Texas.

p3.jpg

We returned to Texas planning to get our house on the market and sell it as quickly as possible so we could move. The market was pretty good at the time, but due to various unusual circumstances, our home sat on the market for almost a year. We had to move to temporary housing in order to keep it clean. I could not imagine living in a home where we also homeschool with five small children and keeping it “show quality” 24/7.

April of 2017 was quickly approaching. This is when our temporary visas were to run out and we would have to pick up our permanent ones. We had to decide quickly whether to do a quick round trip, since our house had not sold, or move and leave the house in someone else’s hands. We decided it was time to load up our container with our stuff and move. We were able to find one way tickets for $103 each on Spirit Airlines. So in early April of 2017, we took the hardest step which was getting on that plane with all five kids.

p1.jpg

We did not tell anyone other than people we saw and family that we were moving. So after arriving, I made a blog post to announce it to family. Needless to say, everyone was quite shocked.

Once we arrived in Panama City, it was time for a new adventure. We were no longer sad about leaving, but we were looking forward to getting to our new home, meeting new friends and being in a new country. We spent about a week in Panama City getting our permanent resident cards and Panamanian driver’s licenses completed, bought a car, being tourists in the city and learning our way around. Then we headed to our new little town and that is where our adventure began.

We have had a relatively easy time adjusting to life here. We were already used to homeschooling, working from home and being together a lot. That is one adjustment some families have a hard time with. The Panamanian people are very friendly. The expat community is amazing here. We feel as though we are closer to our friends here than some of our friends and family in the US. The sense of community among the expats is incredible. We know we can count on them for anything.

p5.jpg

The first six months of the move included a lot of trips to the store to buy things we needed for the home. This included internet (which took six weeks to acquire), electricity, groceries, household necessities and the like. As we have learned, everything here takes longer than one would expect!

The kids are adjusting quite well. They enjoy having lots of space to run and play as well as new places to explore. My son just recently posted about how they go fishing and dig in Treasure Cave. We have some homeschool friends we miss in Texas, but they also love having friends here that they have a lot in common with. Our next adventure is Spanish immersion at a local Boys & Girls club since their Spanish is not taking off like I would like it to.

With all of that established, I am now able to explain why we chose to load up everyone and move to Panama.

Stay tuned for Part 2!


Part 2

Sort:  

Very interesting story! You two were very brave to get on a plane and move 5 kids to Panama! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for stopping by! Yes, it was a huge step (one that was not happily supported by our families). Things have worked out pretty well for us so far here though, which is nice.

What started out as a possible negative event turned into an optimistic life changing family move.
So happy for you and the fact that you have a good ex-pat support group there.

I'll add that I'm quite envious of your life and being more free.

Yeah! What goldie said!

:) Thanks! Yes, we really enjoy it here. Life would not be the same without our expat friends. A lot are home for the holidays but returning in a few weeks. We are looking forward to seeing them again! :)

Am also happy for her. God is great @apanamamama

I've always thought that an "exit plan" was a good thing to have in our back pocket. I believed something catastrophic was about to happen in the US having to do with the blood moons around September 2015. We began preparing the best way we knew how, but we had no exit strategy. Where would we go? How would we get there? How much would it cost? How would we explain this to my parents next door? Yikes!

I knew leaving was really not an option at that point. But the idea did cross my mind. We felt that if we really believed the land was about to be cursed by some disaster (economic, social or otherwise), the best thing to do was to heed the message of Malachi (before the great day of YHVH) and allow our hearts to be turned towards our father:

And he shall turn the heart of the fathers to the children, and the heart of the children to their fathers, lest I come and smite the earth with a curse. Malachi 4:6

September 2015 came and went and the great catastrophe did not come. Here we are 27 months later and the US seems primed for a comeback (although we really don't know). Massive catastrophes can still occur and there are hidden dangers, but by setting our roots next door to my parents, my relationship with them has been improving and they get to be a part of every new grandchild we have. I wonder how different our life would be today if I had decided we needed to move out of the US back in 2015, if we had simply made it happen. @ironshield

Wow, yeah. Your life probably would be totally different now had you decided to just go ahead and move. Yes, the blood moons were really an interesting time. I'm glad you were able to move next to your parents and have them spend all that time with their grandkids (and you)! It is a good idea to have an exit plan just in case it is necessary - and for everyone in the family to have a passport. Can't do much without passports. That's the first step we had to take - renewing and acquiring passports for everyone. :)

Thank you. That's a good idea. @ironshield

I'm excited to meet you and your family. Tell me again exactly where you are. I don't know if I told you but I home/unschooled my three daughters. I'm guessing you are excited to spend time with another Texan. However, I did meet many Texans in Boquete.

I think I will be in your area sometime in early February. My cast is off my arm, I'm doing rehabilitation and getting stronger everyday.

Where in Texas are you from? I'm sure you told me before but please tell me again.

I'm looking forward to reading Part 2.

Keep on Steeming!

We moved here from the Dallas area. It will be fun to meet you. I will send you a message with our location. :) There are A LOT of Texans in Boquete! It is crazy. We went to a church there and introduced ourselves and half of the church yelled since they were from Tx too. I wonder if there's a reason for all the Texans here in Panama... ;)

You know sometimes life gives us twists and turns. Sounds like you have a beautiful, creative thing going.

Yes, it is true! I'm glad that things have worked out for us as they have.

Cool! Really excited for part 2

Thanks for stopping by! :) It took me a few months of thinking on this to get it going. I hope to get the next installment out in the next few days! :)

I hope one day when we have a family we are as courageous to pick up and move like that. What an adventurous life all your kids can say they had ( :

They have had adventure, that's for sure. It made it easier because they have been homeschooled all along. So we weren't taking them out of the school system, away from school friends, etc.

Really interested about the home schooling thing. What method or direction did you take with that? Any suggestions?

We were homeschooling in the States. I use a curriculum called Ambleside Online and we really like it. It involves reading a lot of classical literature with the kids and having them tell back to me what they've heard/learned. It's much better than worksheets and not to difficult to get into. There are also a ton of "box curriculums" which basically give you a box, you open it and follow the teacher's guide all the way through - do worksheet 1a, 2a, 3a and read these stories. There are tons of curriculum options out there. You just have to figure out what you're looking for and jump into it. Our curriculum says not to start until the child turns 6 (which I like)! I write about homeschooling every Saturday on my blog as well.

I'll have to take a look at your Saturday posts ( :

I did a similar move from UK to Taiwan last year but with just the two of us its a bit simplier. Look forward to your next parts of the story.

Yes, moving 2 would be different than our crazy bunch. We're pretty much a parade wherever we go. ;) Thanks for stopping by. I'm going to check out your blog. I love meeting fellow expats!

A ver interesting read, so brave to make such a move, with Kids, I know speaking from experience we moved a few times country to country with 4 kids and ours was easier as it was work related moves

looking forward to part 2

Thanks for stopping by! Yeah it might be easier on parents, etc. if we had an "end" date, but we don't. We consider this a permanent move.

That’s great I have kids bed so many times my next move I hope will be our permanent move 😎

I've been wondering about that for a while, can't wait for part 2!

Good to know! I'll be putting together part 2 soon. ;)

I can't wait for part 2. My wife and I have been chit chatting about leaving the country and Guatemala and Panama are two of the places we have been kicking around.

Well that is really cool. If you end up seriously considering Panama, let me know and I can hook you up. My husband did a lot of research before deciding on Panama and specifically the area we live in. It's all going to be included in Part 2 which I hope to get together soon. I just recently met someone on here who is an expat in Guatemala. I can't remember who! Maybe it was Nicaragua... I forget! :)

Thanks , will look for part 2, we don't have a time frame right now, just considering options.

It's good to be open to the idea at least. That's the first step! :)

haha...do it...steemit friends will for sure set you up!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34