What are the negative impacts brought by social media to your life?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

View the original post on Musing.io

In the current era of globalization, social media has become a prima donna. Not only adults who use social media, even school students and children who are not old enough are also already familiar with social media that is now developing. I myself have known social media for a long time since 2007 starting from Friendster, then Facebook, Twitter, Skype, Foursquare, Line, WhatsApp, Path, Instagram, Snapchat and others. Many negative effects that I feel from the frequent use these social media, including the following:

It's Hard to Socialize With People Around

Because so often I use social media, I become lazy communicating with other people in the real world, in the crowd I am engrossed in my own activities by holding a smartphone and surfing on social media regardless of the circumstances around me. I once met some friends through social media, and on social media we were very active in communicating, but when we met in the real world we became quiet people and we were busy playing with each other's smartphones.

Forgetting Formal Language

In communication in the virtual world I often use informal language and slang languages ​​or languages ​​that are trending on social media, so I forget the rules of using formal languages ​​both in cyberspace or in the real world.

Reducing Performance

While working, I also often use smartphones and communicate with social media. Sometimes because it's so fun I am with social media to make my work delayed and neglected. So that my work piles up. When saturated with work, I also communicate again through social media with friends in cyberspace. Continue like that until now.

Spread Hoaxes

In social media, I am free to write and share anything, often without realizing I publish things that should not need to be submitted to the scope of social media. So that makes anxiety among social media friends with the spread of news hoaxes.

I also often share pictures or memes to make humor on social media, but I often ignore the effects on the images I spread. So this disturbs the privacy of others and spreads the shame of others.

Sort:  

Hey! I really like your post and agree with you. Though social media was created for our betterment in communication, but now I feel, we became a bit unsocial because of misusing of this opportunity. It happened to me too, I have some friends with whom I'm really active over social media. But we fail to talk on something when we meet.

Thank you very much for your visit to my blog.

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure. Be in touch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72