You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Last First Date of My Life

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Awesome!! This is a great story.

This part cracked me up.

Way back in 1997, the vast majority of people, including me, only had dial-up internet connections with a max speed of 56Kps. Let that sink in for a minute. I couldn't just Google her name or check her steemit blog to find out about her interests. I had to put in real work.

Haha, just pasting it there made m lol. When I went on my first date, you still had to DIAL phones. Dial up wasn't even a word. Internet wasn't a word. And what on earth is a kps? Oh, that's kilometers per second!! We were still stuck on MPH.

Second date with my wife was the morning after our first one. We went to the river to bag rays. It's a busy place in the summer.
For some reason, she really wanted to drive. Okay, I think I can handle that. She had a Toyota Corolla that was in pretty good shape, and she knew how to shift pretty well (we all had standard transmissions then). But, she had no clue about RPMs. We're climbing a hill and it starts to bog down. As humbly as I could must I said something like, "I usually shift into third when it starts doing that."
She just kept going and said, "I like it in fourth". O.O

Heh, she tells me now that I should run away that day. That was 31 years and just shy of a month ago. We're still going strong.

Sort:  

That is fantastic! Congrats on 31 years! That is awesome. I am really laughing about the 3rd gear thing. I can only imagine how hard you were biting your tounge. Must have done a great job to last that long!

We've had some storms, but that's part of it. We've taken our vows seriously, even through the darkest times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71