Conclusion – La Gonâve, Haiti - A Vision of Regeneration for a Degraded Land and Impoverished People – Proposal

in #life8 years ago

For all who’ve read along through all these articles, thank you very much. It’s been a very rewarding experience for me to see how much interest there is in this project. Others outside of our Steemit community have been introduced to this community through this series as well, and some are expressing interest in getting involved with the project.

We end this series with an idea on how to pursue the regeneration of La Gonâve. While I can make the time, it’s difficult for me to make the trips to Haiti that I would like. And I am simply unable to wear all the hats that need to be involved to pull this off. Perhaps you have been reading, seeing need and thinking, “Oh, I can do that!”

 

Two First Steps

My goal at this time is to try to plan two trips – one fact finding and strategy, the other initiation. 

Since there is no land to purchase, implementation should not be particularly expensive. Perhaps the greatest expense will be red tape and bureaucracy. But there are expenses, and the amount of revenue available will directly affect how aggressively the project can be pursued. It’s expected that these will include legal fees, transportation, acquisition of seeds and plants, tools and whatever other needs arise.

To raise the funds, awareness must be raised first. To this end, perhaps a crowdfunding project would be in order.

Initiating a crowdfunding campaign for this project at this time would be premature, in my opinion. More information needs to be gathered. A cost basis needs to be established. Agreements need to at least tentatively be reached. Legal and bureaucratic concerns need to be investigated. 

The Second Trip

I bring this up first, because it really can’t be detailed well here. In order to assemble details, I need to be able to get to the island for another investigative trip first.

The second trip would be to solidify the business arrangements, form the company/ies, dial in contracts, get firm commitments from landowners, etc. It would also include a more precise survey of the properties involved and some preliminary design to help the property owners to get started. If enough funds were available, it would be helpful to bring another regenerative/Regrarians® consultant along. It would also be helpful to have an export/import expert and someone savvy in international business involved by this time.

First Trip

In order to get all these ducks in a row, I would like to take a trip in the near future. In fact, I’ve been invited to a biodigester training course/workshop next month near Port au Prince that offers an opportunity to get more resources to La Gonâve. This training will be offered by Solar Cities as a guest of Haiti Education and Resource Team (HEART). You can see one of their designs here. Someone mentioned that they may be using a new design at this workshop.

Jean Rony is already planning on being there for the training. Over the past week we’ve discussed me joining him at the training and then traveling to La Gonâve together.

During my stay I will talk with lawyers, landowners and anyone else necessary in order to discern what would be involved in moving forward. Ideally, I’d have a videographer with me who could record the trip and edit video and pictures into media for promoting the next phase.

I suspect it would be best to meet lawyers on the mainland, but will defer to Jean Rony on that for now. Perhaps he knows a good one on La Gonâve.

We invite landowners from all along the peaks and ridges of the island to meet with us at Happy Dog. Any landowner would be invited to become part of the discussion, but the initial project would really need to be contiguous in order to promote the greatest degree of success in regenerating the land.

I’ve shared earlier in the series why the focus is along the peaks and ridges. If you haven’t followed along, suffice it to say that beginning at the top is the most productive means of regeneration and healing of any watershed. Links to previous articles can be found below my signature.

Raising Funds

In some ways, this is the most challenging part of the entire series. In fact, when I started it I actually hadn't intended on trying to take this trip yet. But opportunities have presented themselves, so it seems prudent to give it a shot. And the first steps have to take place in order to start getting into the regeneration.

For me to make this first trip, I am seeking some donations and collaborative partners in this effort. Please let me know if you’re interested.


This may have been the nicest house I saw on La Gonâve. There was an area in Anse a Galets that I could see from the distance that might have included some nice homes as well. I was told there's a wealthy man's (American I think) home in the hills too, but never saw it.

Note to those interested in being involved: ASHOG is involved in this and is a Christian organization. While the effort is not overtly Christian, many of those involved will be and the “atmosphere” will be heavily influenced by Christians. Anyone involved would need to be comfortable with that.

If I had the dough to just do this, I would. But, while I have a vision, knowledge, relationships and can make the time, I cannot manage expenses at home and for the trip as well.

For this trip, I need about $2,500. In pursuit of that, all SBD raised from this post will go toward getting me to Haiti. If it falls short and I have enough to make up the difference, I'll use the Steem currently in my wallet. It represents all the SBD I’ve earned since article one of this series.

In order to reach this goal, this post would need to bring in at least $4,000, total. At current exchange rates and because of the depreciated SBD, that actually wouldn’t reach the total, but I think I could manage it anyway.

Expenses include, $800+ for flights, $800 for accommodations (last time I got a killer deal, but can't count on it), $300 for transportation and the rest for food and incidentals. At the end of the trip I will leave whatever is left, minus about $20 for food on the return flight, for needs on La Gonâve. I tend to be very frugal, so would anticipate that some will remain.

I realize it’s a longshot, but figured I’d lay it out there. Perhaps those interested in helping would spread the word, post links to this series or otherwise promote it to try to help generate interest.


This video reflects the condition of the island and how it is often forgotten.

If a videographer would like to make the trip with me, please let me know. Unless this post rockets astronomically, I won’t be in a position to cover your costs. But you could be included as a long-term team member, if that interests you.

If I do not reach this goal, I will either set the SBD aside for when I can raise enough funds or send them to the children’s school, depending on feedback I receive at that time. This will include any Steem or SBD transferred to my account as a donation, unless otherwise designated.

If you would like to make a donation specifically to the school or children’s home, you can designate it as such in the notes, or go to the Children’s School donation pages on Crowdrise. If you desire to get involved in any capacity, feel free to reach out to @joe in steemit.chat.

I’m happy to submit my accounting to an independent auditor, if so desired. Mainly, I just want to help the people of La Gonâve to regenerate their land and lives and appreciate any help getting over this hump.

Thanks again! Your encouragement has meant a great deal to me, Jean Rony and the people of La Gonâve who have been able to follow along as well.

Steemin' on,
Another Joe

Email notifications
Facebook
Twitter

If you would like to read through this entire series on regenerating the island of La Gonâve, they’re linked here in order. More will be coming: updates, other material from my time in Haiti and other opportunities, but this series ends with today’s proposal. Thank you for following along!

~ Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10Part 11 ~
Sort:  

Excellent series, and a wonderful project you are undertaking. I wish you the very best of luck in your endeavours. I'm happy to read that you have been able to cover some costs from monies earned from these posts. This is heartwarming. Hopefully this one to will continue that success for you.

Thanks @naquoya. You've been an encouragement to me.

Great to see such spirit and project! I hope to use steem in some similar manner which I will write about soon. Being an Eagle Scout I always love to see this and work to help more of this overall helping and giving as well. Keep up the great work!

Joe, I know you have it in you and you will find some people with the skills and resources to help in this endeavor. What you plant today in Haiti, you will harvest down the road.

Thanks for following along, @getonthetrain.

Thanks @anotherjoe
Now, I am all powering up <3 Yeee Ha

Haha, more power to you. And may you continue to enjoy many carats. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62