Do something real.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

20170528_123230.jpg

I am away from the farm today. "Working." I sit in a comfortable swivel chair in a co-working space in downtown Seattle, and I look around. 8 persons and about 30 screens. Quietly immersed in their work. Work. THIS IS WHAT WORK LOOKS LIKE?! I wonder about this a lot now: how has this become work, and work that is considered more "profitable", presumably of more value, than the precious living, working, stewarding of food on an ecologically productive farm.

I send a text to my wife. "Since I am off the farm for the weekend, let's go on a hike tomorrow, but we have to do something real."

The gym, the hamster wheel, all of it has started to scratch at me. AND it's not just me. Everyday I hear folks say "man you are so lucky to work on the farm." I always warn be careful what you wish for. (Disclaimer: I am working this job now so I can pay off the mortgage on the farm.)

It hits me. People are craving for real things but may not know how or might not be practical in our given system from their vantage point. So let's make it practical. Let's leverage the system to do real things as we move about. So instead of just a run on a trail, move one thing, anything that needs to be moved from one point to a next. Sure maybe not as "efficient" as a truck, but maybe it is. Or more efficient if these damn people were going to run on that trail anyway to get away from the stresses of the rest of their lives. We don't need to separate life from living. Everyone can have a job, purpose, etc. Don't pick up a weight at the gym to just put it back in the same damn place. Somehow create energy with your energy. Not speaking of specifics now, but we can utilize our human capital to inject meaning back into our lives, eliminating some of the distractions. The power is in the peoples folk. Get crazy, wear clothes that don't match...okay, back to work. To abundance!...oh, who is with me?!

The sun is the limit!

~Anonymous Farmer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67163.45
ETH 2666.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70