Life in Europe #8: Bluebell Forest (Halle, Belgium)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Life in Europe

This series covers small (sometimes big) things I spot in my daily life that inspire me to capture that moment... It's usually from the corner of the streets in England, Germany, Belgium or France...

#8: Bluebell Forest (Halle, Belgium)

I might have mentioned here and there in my blog that I am a huge forests lover. I love walking and exploring in the forests. It gives me great amounts of energy and strength as well as comfort. I can talk about my love towards forests for another few more paragraphs, but I won't bore you.

Today I'd like to show you one of my favourite forests in the whole world that is very close to my heart. It's called Bluebell Forest.

IMG_4609.JPG

All of the photos in this article were taken by me when I visited the Bluebell Forest last Spring (and of course no filter!)

It's that marvelous time of the year again... yes, time to visit this magnificent place in Halle, Belgium (about 20 mins drive from Brussels). Every year around this time, from mid-April to early-May, this forest, covering an area of 552 ha (1,360 acres), is carpeted with millions of bluebell flowers.

I still vividly remember the first time I came here. We headed up to the forest driving via a narrow winding road wondering if this is the correct route.. We finally managed to get there, and this was the beginning of the scenery.

IMG_4666.JPG

... looks like a normal beautiful forest... but then

IMG_4669.JPG

as you walk into the woods a little further, the view is gradually widening and..., this view slowly appears in front of your eyes.

IMG_4560.JPG

IMG_4522.JPG

It feels almost like you have reached heaven (if there's such place I hope it will be a place like this!). We followed a signposted Bluebell Walk, which was about 5 km of mesmerising walk...

IMG_4555.JPG

IMG_4558.JPG

Can you see someone riding on a horse?....

IMG_4599.JPG

Am I dreaming? Let's zoom in...

IMG_4599 - コピー.JPG

Horse riding in the Bluebell Forest.. what a truly fairy-tale like scenery! I really wish this place will be kept and stay as beautiful as ever for the long time, forever.

IMG_4600 - コピー.JPG

According to the latest info, this year, the bluebells are just about to start blooming this weekend, meaning from next week onwards, you will be able to witness this nature spectacle again (remember, only for 2~3 weeks).

I found a short video showing the very latest status of the forest as below. It says it was filmed 2 days ago (12 April 2018).


(video source)

Did you hear the peaceful sound of trees rustling in the wind and the sound of birds chirping that echos throughout the forest?

As you see, the forest has the white flowers still and is not covered with the blue-purple carpet yet.. almost there... almost...

I will post a follow-up (video) in the next week or so when it's fully bloom! So please do come back and check it out.

Sort:  

Stunning shots wow missed the blue bells this year hope to catch some still 💯🐒

Hi @vibeof100monkeys! how's it going? I would love to see blue bells in England if you can catch some, I'm sure you can still do as they are in full bloom usually end of April early May I think? :) I'll keep my eyes peeled on your future post!

Yer will do theres a great spot where I used to live but don't know any round here. I'm on the look out 💯🐒

Yey! Hope you'll find it : )

Just.. WOW!!!! This place is so good!!! Looks almost unreal, like painted :)

I know, almost unreal, isn't it! It exists in the outskirts of Brussels. It used to be quiet, but recent years it's becoming a huge tourist attraction.. Thanks for checking my post and leaving a comment @danielapetk!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 02:30:05
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 242.80/200.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.22
Server time: 12:07:04
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 255.00/200.00
Total Photos: 45
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67