Lesson from a Game of Chess

in #life7 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg

Last week i was playing a game of chess with my brother, during the game my brother made a move with his queen which made me intrigued that he was trying to trick me into something which will ultimately lead to my defeat. So i became so much focused to his queen in the game that i lost my whole focus from the game. I would just try to tackle every move made by my brother through the queen and was trying ti kill it as soon as possible so that i don't get defeated. My brother understood that i was focusing towards the move of the queen and so he took different moves in the game which i was not able to understand as i had lost focus from his other moves and ultimately 15 moves down the line my brother gave me check and mate. However i was able to defeat his queen but ultimately lost the game.

The above game with my brother made me think that in life also we become so much focused on problems and day to day small things which does not matter in our life like daily small arguments or unnecessary problems that we lose focus from the whole game of life. We are busy in complaining about the problems and whats wrong in our life that we lose focus from whats actually great in our life which ultimately results in loosing the awesome years of our life in mediocre living.

Rather than being focused on being whats wrong about our life and what are the problems in our life we can think about whatever constructive solutions possible for these problems we can focus on whats actually working in our life and whats great in our life and try to improve them which will result in better life and even to a great success. We can try to learn new things and gain new experience also try to make our moves in the game of life and try to be successful. We can try to be more constructive in our thoughts and try to improve every part of our life professionally, personally, spiritually.

Epictetus Once Said:- "It's not what happens to you, but how you react to it that matters"

Sort:  

Awesome story. I truly agree with your last quote there. You can learn a lot about someone simply by observing their subconscious reactions to things.

We do often get caught up in the small things, but when we learn to let them go and see the bigger picture more often, it's much easier to enjoy life.

Awesome post here @ankit8866. I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: These Three Words Will Instantly Change How You Perceive Your Life

Thank You Very Much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64