An Armor of Love

in #life6 years ago

- You don't wear an armor...

- Excuse me?

- Most people go through life in an armor. I have never before met anyone without it.

We were married for a couple of years when he said that. I was in my early twenties then. I didn't believe in armors or masks. I saw people wearing them and the harm it did. Impossible to do anything real with those, so, basically, why waste time with either? That kind of life seemed like a bad joke, at best.

Walking naked, I knew was the harder way, or at least what people referred to as “harder”. I had plenty of opportunities to learn what exactly that meant. The negative side-effects didn't matter though, because the alternative, the so-called safe way, wasn't a viable option.

Like I said, that was in my early twenties. Now the question is, has anything changed since then?

I separated from that man some years later. We weren't right for each other, but we remained friends. So, that detail has changed.... but what about me? Am I wearing an armor in the mean time?


Looking back at my life, from today's point of view, I realize that perhaps now I do have an armor of sorts.
Things have changed after all!


It's the people in my life. Those who know and love me, the ones I have bonded with.

They are what makes me indestructible

It is because of these people, and our shared history, that I can never lose it completely, and never give up, regardless of the circumstances.

Furthermore, it is impossible for anyone to appear in my life and take me apart, nor destroy that armor. 

Monsters don't stand a chance. Not only because I'm a demon slayer, but I am surrounded with others like me. Spiritual warriors. 

Darkness... doesn't stand a chance. 

My armor is made of pure love,
the most indestructible force in the universe. 


These are not just any people. They are the ones who were worthy of the investment, of time, and of energy that goes into stripping yourself naked and getting to know each other to the bones, and beyond. 

Once you do that, once you see each other in all the light, all the pain, all the glory, once you see and love each other completely, the bond becomes indestructible. It is eternal. 


I have the need, a deep need, to erect a monument for each one of them. A monument of gratitude for their existence in my life. Perhaps this ever-so-humble text is something of that sort. A small token, at least. I don't know that I would be alive today without them. Life didn't make much sense to me at the beginning, when I was a teenager, looking around me, and seeing what people do to each other, seeing how they live. 

We choose the life we want to live.



Detail from one of my paintings.

Sabina Nore

Sabina Nore
www.SabinaNore.com
@anibas
Sort:  

Your beautiful story reminds me of Camelot, one of my favourite stories, along with the Musketeers. Why? Because we all should have a circle of trust, love, confidence and faith in people we considered kindred spirits, Camelot.
Somebody says, and I do not remember who, „Once we find Camelot, all will be right with the world“. Yes, I think so too.
Many actually did, but maybe not being aware of it. What is the highlight of your story is awareness and gratitude. Lucky you with those people and they with you.
Your painting goes well with the story. She is gentle, relaxed and protected. The falcon is a powerful symbol of friendship, wisdom, protection and strength. In Egypt falcons represented the rising Sun. They are connected. Wonderful.

"Once we find Camelot, all will be right with the world."
Whoever said it, yes, that sounds about right in this context.

Thank you for your warm and deep reflections!

This is beautifully written. So the painting is...a strong woman, who's strength is coming from deep within

@patschwork Thank you!
Steemit has been good for me in that regard, I am writing much more than before, not only the stuff I publish, but also privately.
Appreciate your feedback!

I'm making the same experience with steemit. I'm not a person of many words, but now I sometimes find some :) Thanks for your reply

Very motivating text and great painting!

Gorgeous writing, some deep ideas! Can't wait for more from you :)

Thank you.

The very interesting writing my friend, life is free to do what we want, which is important we do not disturb people

It a good post, but, frankly speaking, i need your vote... I appreciate it so much...

You have reached the entrance of .
Random vote dispersion can be found in a different part of the universe.
Just follow the yellow octopus.

That's a great post.. Inspirational and encouraging

That's great @salajacklyn. What does it inspire you to?

Like Monster

People say life changes when we change.
I believe that everything will be lighter if you leave your armor.
Wish you have more fun!

I am not sure if more fun is needed, but thanks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22