Who cares if one more light goes out? Well I do

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am not sure you know this, but I am a rock fan.

Today I saw the news that Chester Bennington of Linkin Park committed a suicide. Before that it was Soundgarden's Chris Cornell...

Much much earlier it was Kurt from Nirvana...

And many many more... So today I decided to talk about this. Maybe this is not an entertaining subject, but I think it's an important one.

None of us will completely understand why they did it... What made them reach the dark place they were at... What broke them... Why no one was able to make their life better... When exactly did the hope die... 

Creative people seem to be more sensitive to depression and emotional issues. We all joke about writers being super depressive people. 

We talk about rockstars being drug addicts...

I spoke about one of the rockstars who committed a suicide with mum and she said "well it's not surprising... after so many years of drug addiction..." 

The problem is... I think the drugs are not the ones that cause suicide. Drugs are the first step people take out of desperation to get closer to death. 

People don't commit suicide because they use drugs... They use drugs because they are broken. At some point in their life they break something inside their souls and no one around them can un-break it. 

Probably no one can un-break you when you reach the point when you're broken. Most probably they won't even know you're broken.

The thing is - no one walks around with a sign saying "I am fighting depression" attached to their foreheads.

We feel vulnerable to admit that. That is why most of us hide that fact. Often the most depressed people hide it behind a smile and laughter and no one is able to guess.

On social media we share our happy snapshots. With friends we don't talk about the previous night when we cried ourselves to sleep.

Why?

Maybe because if they start asking logical questions such as "why?" we won't be able to answer. It is not just one thing... It is not easy to explain to someone who's not been there... It is not a logical "because" answer. Often we don't even know why...

We say we care... but do we? 

These days we ask "how are you?" but do we really want to hear the answer. We are so used to the positive reply that if someone gets the courage to say "no" we become numb and have no clue what to reply...

I am not even sure why I'm writing all this here and if what I wrote makes any sense.

It's just painful to see so many talented and broken people around us... 

One More Light lyrics

[Verse 1]
Should've stayed, were there signs, I ignored?
Can I help you, not to hurt, anymore?
We saw brilliance, when the world, was asleep
There are things that we can have, but can't keep

[Chorus]
If they say
Who cares if one more light goes out?
In the sky of a million stars
It flickers, flickers
Who cares when someone's time runs out?
If a moment is all we are
Or quicker, quicker
Who cares if one more light goes out?
Well I do

[Verse 2 ]
The reminders, pull the floor from your feet
In the kitchen, one more chair than you need, oh
And you're angry, and you should be, it's not fair
Just 'cause you can't see it, doesn't mean it, isn't there

[Chorus]
If they say
Who cares if one more light goes out?
In the sky of a million stars
It flickers, flickers
Who cares when someone's time runs out?
If a moment is all we are
Or quicker, quicker
Who cares if one more light goes out?
Well I do

Please re-steem if you think it's worth it.

Sort:  

I think that as a whole, we do care about our friends and family. We're definitely used to a positive reaction when asking how someone's doing; so I do agree that we would be a little stunned if we heard a "I'm really depressed and need help" type response. But at the end of the day, our hearts are in the right place and we would do everything we could to help.

Having said that, I also think that we're completely disconnected from real relationships nowadays. We share everything that's positive on social media, stare at our phones when we're actually with people, and go home to handle our emotions alone. Maybe if we started to reconnect, I mean really connect, with our friends and family again, that conversation would be easier to have.

yup, agree with you. I can't even imagine how lonely and broken they felt to get to the point where taking their lives feels a better option. Very sad (

Great post Ani and the song is a perfect add (I hadn't seen this song/video before). Thanks xoxo

I think it's from their latest comeback album... If I am not mistaken they had already sold tickets for their upcoming concert (

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34