A Bad Relationship Can Do A Lifetime of Damage

in #life7 years ago

A bad relationship can do a lifetime of damage. 

A bad relationships can damage your self esteem

A bad relationship can make it difficult to form new relationships

Ultimately sometimes it's better to have never loved and lost, than to have ever loved at all

Check out the video linked for more insight on this!

Sort:  

Depressing because its true.

I think a lot of people would have been better off if they had gone their own way in their teens. Focused on themselves and their own happiness. People are extremely self centered these days, and ultimately it's no longer about forming a life with someone, it's just a competition.

that makes sense. I know exactly what you mean actually. Dating now is like an interview process.

angry-mgtow? danielownsall? After I read your comments, what came to mind was the song titled "What Ever Happened To Old-Fashioned Love?" by B.J. Thomas. LOL! The lyrics of that song are somewhat dated, but they still hold so true even in this day and age. Dating and relationships nowadays have been reduced to one big popularity contest.

And never marry just for lust, or marry before you're 25 and know yourself better. I did both, and it was a huge mistake I'm still paying for many years later.

So very true. Both men and women were not taught anything by the boomers and media beyond narcissism. I've been checking out your post, they are very insightful. I can't figure out if you are a feminist, egalitarian or don't go by a label at all. Please shine some light on this.

I don't think I really subscribe to any label. Maybe light feminist/semi-anarchist/human and animal rights advocate/hippie. There's definitely a strong element of peace-and-love hippie in me.

Stat's solid advice. I think for men marriage before 25 is problematic as we have a lot more to do as we get older. In general I think most people marry based on lust rather than even the notion that they like each other

When you're really young, too, lust can seem like love. You don't even know how to tell the difference until you're older and have had some experience. And, lust is a bad thing to base a marriage on. If that's all you have, there's nothing to build on from that once the lust fades, as it will.

Well, I never had much use for that TLC television show titled "19 Kids And Counting." It pushed the mindset that if you were past 23 years old and unmarried, without children, then you were somehow a social outcast. And those people were far from perfect. I mean, look at Josh Duggar and what a trainwreck he is. When people get married at a young age, even in their teens, I respect those individuals. However, when these prima donnas and prom kings who have married their high school sweetheart at 18 or 19 years old treat me as inferior to them, I simply cannot have a friendship with them. I used to have a friend who fit that description, and our friendship was short-lived. As far as someone marrying before 25 years old is concerned, I agree with both of you only insofar as it becomes wrong when someone marries before 25 years old just to please society. I've met a lot of people who fit that description through the years.

Well, angry-mgtow? I read your article and I viewed your YouTube video. Everything you said holds true. However, one thing that I would like to add is that we all need to be extremely careful about who we vote for in elections whenever there are female candidates on the ballot. On one side, you've got feminists. They're the good guys. On the other side, you have femi-nazis. They're an abomination. Female politicians with man-hating agendas are everywhere in the United States of America. I imagine that Canada has their fair share of them as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95