The Dawn Service~

in #life6 years ago


It is ANZAC Day for Australians and New Zealanders. This is the one day of the year that is set aside for us to commemorate all Australians and New New Zealanders who died or served in military operations for their country. So I did what lots of other people do, I set the alarm for 4:30am to get to a dawn service. We went to the local RSL Sub-Branch at East Malvern in Melbourne. RSL stands for Returned And Service's League of Australia.

I personally feel very emotional at these kind of events. I think of the families who never see their father, son and brother again! So sad because there have been many wars. Such a waste of lives. The upside of this day is to not to forget the men who have died on the battle field. It is uplifting to be apart of the very big crowd of people who came to pay their respects. The most heart felt part of the ceremony is the 'Last Post' played on the bugle by a soldier. After a breakfast of bacon and egg on a roll I went home feeling reflective.

Here is one of the poignant photographs on the slideshow that played during the ceremony

My biggest wish is to end all wars and fill the world with love. Let us all be tolerant, understanding and accepting of difference. Diversity is rich and to be celebrated. It brings colour to the world.


Cheers
Angie

Thanks for reading and for your support. It is appreciated. Please upvote and resteem.


Sort:  

good story 😍😍😍😱😍😍

Thanks, glad you liked it.

We're not war again.
From people who died of the war death we must learn.
I resteemit it. I appreciate your post.

Thank you and let our world live in peace.

Thank you very much for your important feedback to come to my blog

I have organized men in my blog with today's men's diet and some important tips for skin protection. I hope that next time I will be able to decorate my next blog with women, I'll get back to you on my blog and how you now keep your valuable feedback. Then I will get your important and valuable feedback

I will check out your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46