It's getting hot...

in #life6 years ago

Happy-2.png

Spring is here!

This year it has been an especially cold and long winter.
Who looks like E.T. down there is our little one in the stroller, heated by a hot water bottle to protect him from freezing on our way to his sister's kindergarten. We had -17°C that day in March…Where is global warming when we need it?!

Pius.png

Therefore we were craving for the sun for quite a while already. Just to clarify: when I say we here, I am talking about the kids and myself, not our whole family. For my husband spring is a threat.
I arrange outdoor play dates and meet other sun addicts like me at the playground. What a great feeling to run barefoot again! For me, good weather changes everything. As soon as the sun shines, I am in a better mood, I become way more active and motivated and everything seems easier. Maybe it’s due to the weather that I became a Steemian just yesterday?!

sand.png

I actually thought, that this would be true for every human being. Well, this was before I met my husband.
As soon as the sun comes out, he feels uneasy. The outdoor season starts– also known as his personal nightmare.
Here is a small collection of his let’s-stay-inside-arguments:
„We can close the sun blinds, so you can’t see that it’s sunny outside. This will make you feel more comfortable and we can stay at home.“
„Why do we have an apartment when we keep leaving it all the time?“
„No, kids do not need to be outdoors all day long. They will grow just fine also without direct sunlight.“
„Look at me! I’ve survived childhood although I was forced to be outdoor all the time! Kids adjust!“

But this is not the only reason he worries about the warm temperatures. His mining rigs in the office will be relocated to a dark and chilly cellar room in only two weeks time. Yes, right, my nerd and his rigs agree absolutely in terms of environment and living conditions…
In the meantime his office is heated up to around 40°C these days, although all windows are open and an industry-scaled air-extraction device has been installed. So it didn’t happen only once that I found him nearly naked in his chair, sweating and complaining – about the sun of course, not about the rigs…
I don’t mind the heat. I do Bikram yoga once a week, 90 minutes at 38°C, I’ve learned to enjoy the high temperatures.
The attentive reader has probably already recognized the synergy potential. So did I this morning, when I had a babysitter and my nerd was out on a meeting somewhere…

Yoga@rigs.png

It is so much easier to bend and stretch in the hot room. Even after ten years Bikram yoga practice it still amazes me. For those of you who haven’t heard of it: try it! It’s exercise, sauna and mediation-all in one. It frees my mind and I learn to control my breath. One of the main Bikram yoga phrases is: "If you can control your breath, you can control everything. You are bulletproof." Well, I don't know how long this should take, but guess what: I am still not bulletproof. Probably I should practice more often and consider it more in everyday life. Nevertheless, as soon as I remember how to breath correctly ina stressful situation, it helps me a lot. Indeed I feel much stronger and more self confident. I'll try to remember it at the next discussion about going out or not.

Another phrase is "The way to heaven leads through hell"
For this one, I have a little story for you.
Around eight years ago I persuaded my nerd to join my yoga class. What can I tell you? He hasn’t forgiven me yet. On that very day a French guy in light blue speedos taught the class. I still remember like it was yesterday.
“Peter, bring your foot higher! Peter, stretch! Like a flower pedal blooming! Peter, smile!”
Talking in the hot room is not allowed. Nevertheless I heard him swearing and snuffling behind me. I could even feel his anger and his temptation to kick in the French guy’s teeth - and probably mine as well in that very moment. It was a disaster. I could have known before…Still - give it a try!

This is how it looks like when pros do it. Pictures are taken from YogaLoft, my most favourite yoga studio in Vienna.

Yogaloft.png

P.S: Thank you very much everyone for this warm welcome you gave me. I am very happy to be on Steemit now with all of you!

Sort:  

Congratulations @anerdswife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30