A Great Night Out

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0369 (2).JPG

Last night I went out to the harness racing.

I love horses, I always have from being very small. They are just majestic creatures with the ability to make your day so much better. I love the way they smell and how they move and one day soon I shall have my own again.

I have met the president of the harness racing club a few times now so I messaged him to reserve a table for a few friends and family because it's my birthday next week and that's what I wanted to do.

IMG_0370 (2).JPG

He said that he would, so I turn up with a cake in hand and just expecting to sit in the public area at a reserved table.

Well apparently his message to reserve a table did not get through so there wasn't room for us all to sit together. I asked at the bar and they didn't know anything. So we just sort of sat at a small table waiting to see what would happen.

The lady at the bar passed on to the powers that be, that I was expecting a table and another lady came to see me and took us up into the sponsors lounge (yippee) where we all felt quite out of place because I knew I wasn't supposed to be there. Those tables cost $700 for 6 people and I couldn't afford that!!! The lady came back with a cheese and cracker platter and we were told to go help ourselves at the bar!! (I feel a bill coming on) There were 10 of us! 😲

IMG_0361 (2).JPG
Also Watching was Champion Jockey, Darryl Bradley ( Who just happened to be there)

There's a quiz night in the lounge so we get welcomed in there by the compere and he notices the cake and asks who's birthday it was. My face turns lobster red and he starts off the whole lounge in a great rendition of Happy Birthday!

We sucked at the quiz mainly because I answered every question with A for Andrea 😁

Then came dinner! Hot Ham and roast beef with salad and buns followed by many different slices for dessert.

Dan (the president of the club) came to see me and he was very happy that we were there - I gave him cake! Chocolate Mud Cake with an inch of frosting and tiny Easter eggs all over the top. I half expected to see him racing the horses around the track after eating the enormous piece I gave him! hehehe 😁

One of the officials came to visit our table and asked who's birthday it was and then asked if I wanted to go for a ride in the race start vehicle OMG!!! YES please! That was the highlight of my evening! It was so much fun and man do they go fast. I got to sit on the back of the vehicle, facing the horses as they gather to start the race. I want to do that again!!!!

IMG_0388.JPG
Waiting for the start
IMG_0406 (3).JPG
Up close and personal
IMG_0399 (2).JPG
Going flat out

I backed a few winners and a few losers but came out pretty even in the end.

I had the best night ever. Everyone want all out to make it a great evening and it was all I could have hoped for!
It was great to spend an evening with my son (who's moving away next week) and daughter and a few good friends and to top it off everything was free!!

IMG_1619 (2).JPG

Images are all my own and unfortunately not the best quality!

Upvotes and Re-steems are appreciated 😎

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Harness racing is something I love to watch. Wish we had a track around here.

I have enjoyed going since I was a teenager - I love the atmosphere there!

Happy Birthday! That sounds like an absolutely amazing way to celebrate the day. Even though I know absolutely nothing about harness racing, I am definitely jealous of that VIP experience. Every woman should have something like that happen at least once in her life.

Thanks my actual BD is the 20th but I feel that I've had the best part of it early :) It was so good - You don't need to know anything you just show up with a few dollars and have fun :)

What a great night to remember. I love the races and followed you all the way! Best wishes for your upcoming b’day.🎂🍷🎉🎈

It's good fun right! I love all things horsey lol

Happy Birthday for Tuesday @ andysantics! That was a stylish celebration if ever I saw one. Awesome! :D

Thank you :) Gosh I was spoiled rotten - not used to that kind of treatment :)

what a fantastic story!!!! oh my gosh!!!!!!! and what a memorable birthday!!!! the bad beginning twisted to make an even better ending!

oh i'm so happy that you got to go for a ride too!!!! hahahaha

my favorite horse of all time.... Friesian. aghhhhh they are almost too beautiful to believe! and so many of them were slaughtered!!!! they almost went extinct!

have you ever seen the movie LadyHawke? There is a Friesian in that movie - and he is MAGNIFICENT!!!

but there are a few others that just .... you can't even believe that a horse can be that striking!

someday... someday :)

Thanks - I sure had a fun time - No I haven't seen Ladyhawke but I will look for it - I love horse movies :D Hahaha if I get one I think I'll need a clydesdale :D

This is my dream horse - Frieisian :)

The movie just featured the horse... it wasn't about horses. but the horse was just beautiful!!!

Stunning!!! just makes me want to bury my head in his neck and inhale while stroking it - jeepers that sounds wrong doesn't it lmao

it would sound wrong to someone who wasn't also a horse lover. hahahaha

i like the smell of barns. my husband is like UGH. it smells like .... LOL

and i'm like - nooooooo i smell the sweetness of the oats and hay mixed with sweat and horse-hair.

he's like - you're weird. and that's gross.

hahahahahaha from one horse lover to another - I GET YOU GIRL!!! :)

nothing better than the smell of barns or stables and feed and even... mixed in!!! It has memories attached doesn't it! Horses are therapeutic and just plain lovely :) I glad someone gets me :D lol

Great score, you did really good getting into the Posh Part, and for free.
glad you enjoyed it.
Happy birtday to ewe

Aww thank you Len - I know right I was so lucky :)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Andy! So happy @kiwideb let us know that today was the big day! Have a ball and live it up!

Thanks Peggy - I had a lovely day :)

Happy birthday Andy! Looks like you had a blast :)

Oh gosh I had the best time ever - it will be hard to top that next year for my Old Birthday!!