You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dtube Pillow Talk: Is Mansplaining A Real Thing?

in #life6 years ago

it happens on both sides I've had both men and women explain things to me in a condescending or patronizing tone. I agree with aarongmunoz I think its probably an ego thing that people have. I've never understood wrapping up condescending or patronizing into a word like mansplaning when almost everyone does it anyway lol all that said I've lived a pretty secluded life (intentionally) so i'm probably ignorant to the situation in general.

Sort:  

I as well have had women be condescending, but there are specific situations in which I have to sit and listen to a man explain something to me solely because I am a female. Is it life altering? No. It's not a huge deal. I am not going to march topless and demand an apology. If anything, I find it just annoying, if not mildly amusing, but it's something interesting to discuss at least.

Defiantly interesting to talk about :) but Idk its not to say you do it but its difficult for me to assign intent when someone talks to me that way. Like when my boss at Walmart would be condescending to me I never jumped to "she is doing it because i'm a man" I just thought she was being a jerk. I mean like if I saw a trend of her treating women differently than men at work maybe i'd put two and two together idk I just wonder how someone gets to a point where they would say person x is doing it because of my gender. How would someone reach that conclusion unless person x was clearly sexist in some way? to me the word mansplaning its odd word, it implies that its something exclusive to men and maybe sexist in its own way. IDK lol i'm just riffing i'm so detached this kind of social stuff (or whatever you'd call it) that maybe I shouldn't even talking about it lol. ANYWAY I love watching your stuff! you keep it interesting :)

and I hope your surgery goes well :D

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50