Hangin’ with Harry – A Quest for Magick #1

in #life6 years ago

Hey all,

As you may know, this past week hasn’t been all that great to me. As I’ve mentioned in my post, “The High and the Low”, the Deaf and Disability Arts Grant would have covered all my comic related expenses for a whole year. However, prior to hearing about it, I used my savings which are now completely exhausted. Due to the fact that ODSP gives me a very low fixed income, it took me years to get a decent amount of savings.

In lieu of getting the grant, I wrote a letter asking ODSP if I can start a crowdfunding campaign on a site like Kickstarter, Indiegogo, GoFundMe or Patreon (I think I’ll stick with Patreon, because I know, and like them). So, I’m waiting to hear back from ODSP, meanwhile, I am beginning a quest to bring more magick back into my life and regain some of the old optimistic idealism.

Thus I revisited a blog post I wrote back in 2011, which I’ll share with you here.

daniel-radcliffe,-emma-watson,-rupert-grint,-harry-potter-162439.jpg

“Growing Up Potter” meant I got to go to dances, go shopping, play a freaking cool sport and learn some awesome spells. But do you know what the best part was? I got to do all of this while hanging out with my friends, and it didn’t even matter that I couldn’t walk. I had entered into a world where anything was possible. Rowling created a world where kids like me could experience the magick in life, and feel like we belonged.

I am very grateful that I stumbled upon the “Growing Up Potter”article by Emily Asher-Perrin because it reminded me of how I felt when I read/listened to the books. It is a really great feeling – it’s one that evokes warmth, hope, and excitement for the world. It’s a very empowering feeling that I hope to share through my upcoming book series, and in the other work that I’ll do.

I’ve spent the majority of the past week in “lock down” because I was trying to finish my book. I took a hiatus from the social web, and I managed to start and complete draft 6 of the first book. I’m pretty happy with it, so there won’t be another draft. YAY! Now I am going to see about finding an agent and a publisher, however, I’ll look into that after I get some sleep.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by andrecampbell77 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29