A New Venture or Two - A Quest for Magick #3

in #life6 years ago

Fellow Steemians,

I had an idea the other day to start up my own website design business to bring in some extra cash. This, along with Patreon and posting here on Steemit will hopefully make comic cons and my career as an artist more affordable. Plus, I’ll have my cheques from my job as a sensitivity trainer combined with the money I get from ODSP (if I can still receive it that is) to help me as well.

andrecampbell_website.JPG

Although, I do definitely want to get off of government assistance one day in the near future, I know I’m not there yet unfortunately. However, the more I think about giving up on my art and going to cons, the more I know I can’t. Even writing this down is making me really really freakin’ anxious! :(

My art led me to a community where I now have amazing friends who don’t give a crap about my disability, and in which I not only belong, but actually have a purpose. Not to say that I didn’t have friends or a purpose beforehand, however, my CP (Cerebral Palsy) shadowed things. It was always there, you know? Though, now it’s not even a thought. …Am I explaining this correctly? I’m not sure…

tiger.png

My disability impacted the way I did things and how I interacted with people. Very often I wasn’t able to do whatever or make myself understood because the venue was inaccessible, I didn’t have support or what have you. However, this is no longer the case. It’s like the minute I slip into cosplay, my disability melts away, and people see the real me.

For instance, one of the Spidey cosplayers I know personally invited me to his birthday bash. Said bash was a mashup of a street festival and a community fundraising event for the food bank. It was full of every superhero, comic and sci-fi character you could imagine. Besides having a ton of fun, I made a whole lot of people (including little kids) smile, which felt awesome! See why I can’t give this stuff up?

WoodstockSpidey-Flash.JPG

Wow, I really digressed!! Back to my website design idea! I never really considered it as a viable career path for me until now. I mean I did look into taking a graphic design course through college, years ago; however, that didn’t happen. Even though I designed my own website, I think what’s attracting me to starting up a venture of this ilk is twofold. It’s something that I can do myself, while still being creative. Also, I get to potentially be of help to my boyfriend, whilst still doing my own thing.

What do you think?

‘Til next time!

Sort:  

Very inspirational, I can't stress enough how important it is to pursue your passion and do something you love!

Thanks!! Totally agree! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48