My first attempt at Apple Melomil (Honey Wine )

in #life7 years ago

This is my first try at a honey based wine. It has been on my bucket list for some time. IMG_1695.JPG

As you may have read in my gardening update ,my wife has been processing apple sauce. I get the juice from that and put it to good use. I now have 2 batches of apple ale going and just happen to fall into some local honey so why not give it a try.?

Here is the recipe I used
3/4 gallon of apple juice
1 1/4 quartz of honey
1 tspoon pectin enzyme
1/2 tspoon acid blend ( I am going to add some Lemmon juice too I ran out of acid blend )
Recipe also call for 1 tspoon yeast nutrient ( I am going to boil down a handful of raisins and a little nettle for nitrientsince I am out of they too.
I am using the yeast from a batch of 2014 apple wine that I bottled today. IMG_1699.JPG
First off I warmed up the honey and brought my apple juice to a simmer. Next I dumped the honey into the apple juice and stirred it in. Note: never use aluminum. I prefer stainless steel containers and wood utensils for cooking. Now I dump the liquid off in my genuine Red Wing 2 gallon and let cool.
IMG_1708.JPG
I then dump my yeast, pectin enzyme, and nutrient into the container and cover with plastic wrap.
Put this away for about 2 weeks.
IMG_1698.JPG
After I got this batch cooking I bottled the 2014 batch of wine.
IMG_1697.JPG
Another 3 months and I will crack one. Wine making teaches you patience.
I will Update you when we dump the melomil into an airlock.

Sort:  

Your post is cool I really like your own work, have fun in this steemit, really beautiful this world friend, I hope you succeed in this steemit I will always support you, Give me time to see my post, see lah here @andriannaa

This sort of posting is easy to get to see. It looks good to see your posts. Thank you. For your great writing and for sharing

Hmm It's the first time I hear about Honey Wine...That's very interesting...you did a great job explaining the whole process of preparation. Love this kind of step by step tutorials. Thanks for posting @andre-ager :)

Thanks having fun with it.

hello my friend! Your post is very good
i like i like times, see is my first introduction post in steemit my friend, i hope you see it and upvote -resteem thank you

Hi thanks done and done .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80