Two Weeks In, This Place is Awesome

in #life8 years ago

It's been about two weeks since I first logged into Steemit, not entirely sure of what to expect. What I read about it had me skeptical; who pays people to post on social media? I mean, really and truly, that notion seemed so alien to me that I thought for sure there was going to be some sort of scam or entry deal where it was free to try but you'd have to buy in after a while. Still, a couple of guys I had come to know really well on Facebook suggested it and hopped on board, so I did, too.

All I can say is, WOW.

I have just been blown away by the community I've found on here, not to mention the quality of most of the work being put out. Some of the high-dollar posts are just high-dollar because of the authors, but honestly, who cares? They're bringing exposure to the platform and bringing more people here like me. If not for following @jaredhowe and @seedsofliberty I likely wouldn't have ended up here, so there's something to be said for these guys with much more exposure and larger followings bringing more people on. The best part? Most of them are anarchists and voluntaryists. This is the community I've been looking for.

What's really amazing to me is the fantastic community of fiction writers we have here. @gonzo, @melek, @quantumanomaly, @jedau, and a whole host of others have been nothing but welcoming of me, and I've received a tremendous response for the work I've put out here. We're building a supportive and inclusive community of fiction writers here, and with contests like #descriptionsonthespot and #steemwriteoff there's a ton of incentive to be creative and push yourself as a writer. I couldn't be happier about where we're at and where we're headed.

In short, thank you to all of you who have welcomed me on here, and I'm looking forward to staying here as long as y'all will have me!


Andrei Chira is a vaper, voluntaryist, and all-around cool dude. Formerly a paratrooper in the 82nd Airborne Division, he now spends his time between working at VapEscape in Montgomery County, Alabama, contributing to Seeds of Liberty on Facebook and Steemit, and expanding his understanding of...well, everything, with an eye on obtaining a law degree in the future.

Sort:  

Very cool, I want to start my own sci fi storied. Right now Ive just been writing about real life stuff trying to deal with the stress of life, Glad to have you on steem it.

Same here man! Hope all is well in your life, and you can get some breathing room to do some writing. Right now I'm putting out my own scifi story, one chapter at a time :D

sweeeet hommmmee alabamaa .... hey! that's where I'm from :) birmingham to be exact! welcome to steem it!

Hell yeah, Montgomery here! War Eagle! Glad to see another guy here from the Heart of Dixie :D

Hi Andrei, I have a challenge for you, I know you like challenges,

How about you write a fiction war piece from the perspective of the people you were fighting overseas, you know, the terrorists. A first person account from the perspective of an Iraq or Afpak insurgent.

I think that would be a wonderful writing exercise, and very challenging.

Glad to have you around

I can certainly try to do that. No guarantees on whether it's accurate or not, because those two groups encompass a huge diversity of people with different aims and goals. But I will give it a shot.

nice post!

~fellow voluntaryist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50