Guys, I've Got a ProblemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Friends, I have a confession to make.

I have a problem. It's been a long, hard road to get to this point, and there were more than a few times I thought I'd hit rock bottom. Still, you don't really know what rock bottom looks like until you get there three times and finally hit bedrock on the fourth.

I used to think that I could quit whenever I wanted. It's just a small part of my life, right? Then I started rationalizing it. All my friends were on the same train as I was, so why wouldn't I get into it? It only made sense.

And then it got worse. And worse. The shitposting started. It was only a post or two, here and there. I didn't think all that much of it; they just sorta happened in the heat of the moment. Then I started trolling. It went from worse to even worse, until one day, I looked up and noticed I'd spent all day doing nothing but shitposting and trolling. I spent the entire day watching the notification icon to pounce on a reply to any one of the fifteen posts I had going.

I tried quitting cold turkey, but I crumpled like a cheap paper bag in days. Then I found Steemit and really tried to throw myself into that. It helped a lot, and I was clean and sober for months. Then it happened. I saw a notification pop up on my phone, and suddenly I was right back in it. I sat out in my car in the driveway, scrolling through boomer posts and trolling. Despite my sincerest efforts and the help of Steemit and all the friends I've made here, I couldn't stop.

So I have a problem, friends. I'm addicted to shitposting on Facebook, and I don't know how to stop.


If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.

Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet and the Fiction Workshop on Writer's Block:

DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif
Sort:  

Dude! Delete that nasty shit spying app from your phone. hell do a full reset on the damned thing just to get it all. get rid of the triggers man! No triggers don't get pulled!

I feel for ya. I used to post 10-15 articles a day that were freaking IMPORTANT DAMMIT DONT YOU KNOW THAT! and thanks to the great flying spaghetti monster or whatever I found steemit and am pouring myself into helping on a local level even if it's global reach.

I was trying to make a difference, but was simply putting cash in their pockets and info in their database.

Now I go there when I am paid to go there and I get my stoopid job done and I'm out. No scrolling. No looking at their fake news blurb on the right. If there is a message for me I look to see if it's from family and if not, frack it.

You CAN beat the addiction. I believe you can, regardless.

Heya @jonknight,

The church of FSM. Praise his noodley apendages! Only read the important messages and nothing else.

@anarcho-andrei, isn't there a patch? Or somethung that can be done. Weening off helps, but nothing beats cold-turkey. You can kick the habit, I believe in you!

<3 shello

Take it one step at a time. You can't just go cold turkey and expect it not to rear its ugly head. What you have to do is to accept your weakness, and slowly move away from it. Admission of your problem is a good first step. You are stronger than it, I know you are. Don't fight it. Accept it as a part of who you are then overcome it.

Cold turkey is the way to go - a 10 day break, and I'm clean....lol

Good for you then!

It has been 2 days and I havn't started trolling....fingers crossed

Read any of the posts on the web about how FB steals your info and does their best to psychologically manipulate you. These will get you mad as hell. Then delete the app from your phone and completely block it from your computer. Edit your hosts file to block it so you literally can't access it anymore.

I can relate, I'm to busy for it to ever get that bad though.

It's when that busy stuff gives way to shitposting and trolling that it's a problem. That's where I'm at lol

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I didn't think all that much of it; they just sorta happened in the heat of >the moment. Then I started trolling. It went from worse to even worse, until one day, I looked up and noticed I'd spent all day doing nothing but shitposting and trolling. I spent the entire day watching the notification icon to pounce on a reply to any one of the fifteen posts I had going.

I feel ya - I have just taken a 10 day break because of the same feelings...

Oh dear. This really is a problem. You need professional help. I don't think the pep talks are working.

God, Rhonda, I tried. I tried so hard and I was doing so well, but I saw that pip in my phone's task bar and it all just came crashing down. The cold sweats, the itching, the anxious foot tapping. It all came back.

I need help. Please.

Get a puppy?

That's the last thing he needs xD

LOLOL!!!! I'm sure of that!

They say the first step on the road to recovery is to admit you have a problem. Maybe you need to clean up your facebook, so it only has the people with whom you have intelligent conversations and get rid of all groups, etc. Then next time you feel the need, come into discord and we'll point you are articles in the queues to edit on instead and work off that nervous energy.

Man, I hear you... It's 5am, first thing I'm doing is checking. Can't even see the screen yet.

Our phones have broken us. There is an iFaceFree app that will set limits on your access... I don't know. I like @jonknights suggestion... Delete it.

You CAN control this, you can fight this.

I personally get no inspiration from the ole' book of face.. it's for marketing only. All my "friends" prob think I'm dead!
PS this is @chelsea88 i run this curation account. Looking to do east coast meetings eventually, you're "east coast enough" ;)

You're damn right I am! Include me :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55