I Accept That My Child is Special Needs

in #life5 years ago

With so much current day metal awareness you wouldn't think it difficult to accept the truth that one's child is special needs.

I am and always have been an advocate for mental health and awareness so, it comes with great alarm that it took me 8 years to embrace my Daughter's circumstances.

We attended medical appointments, partook in behavioral groups, read books and articles, met with teachers and counsellors, and filled out form after form after...

I thought, because I was aware of my Daughter's struggles and diagnoses that I accepted it. I thought.

I was wrong.

images(13).jpg

After creating a new Instagram page, I began viewing mental health tags. One day, while writing in regards to my kids situation, I noticed that I was shuffling around the use of the phase, "special needs"- my Daughter is fine, it's society that isn't, I seemed to think.

Then, I began shifting through childhood memories of my Uncle who is, "mentally retarded" (as was his generalized diagnoses those many years ago). That is when I suddenly looked through different eyes. I saw that my child's is much more delayed than these letter combination titles allud to.

I wonder if social acceptance is also watering down the severity of heath. I wonder if media in its many forms is glamourizing mental and physical illness.

I know that for myself, I see mental illness as a standard part of society. It is everywhere. We are everywhere.

If there's a red dot amongst black dots, the red stands out. If all or many of the dots are red, the reds aren't so easily identified. My Daughter is a red dot and, I was in denial.

It's still strange to me but, at her age of twelve (12) I'm now able say and accept that my baby isn't just a little different; my Daughter is special needs and, I love her profoundly.

💕🌻

Sort:  

I am so happy to have you around! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Those outstanding people have always been the one to make a difference. Who cares about this mass of boring black dots? They're bored of themselves!

I recommended this post for the @pifc contest. I really like your first posts and hope that you stay with us! I also resteemed and followed and will upvote later. Can't afford right now. :)

Thank you Maya. I appreciate this. I am hoping that my blog(s) will help my Daugher and I with extra income flow to account for the many medical trips, meds, clothing (since Ki sneakily will throw her clothing in the trash) and other factors related to both our mental health.

Your reesteem truly means more to me than a simple shoutout- it helps me better our lives a little at a time.

Truly. 💕

I love her profoundly

that's all the matters, after all. xx

As long as you and your daughter live a full and happy life it’s all that matters!

Society will always change it’s just group think masqueraded as fact!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love this post @anaclark! After teaching for years, your take on it all is very refreshing.

I love her profoundly

In the end, that's all that really matters :)

Thank you to @mayb for choosing your post for her Pay it Forward Curation Contest (@pifc) entry!

Congratulations @anaclark! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Highly rEsteemed!

As a librarian, I serve a lot of people with disabilities and handicaps even in my small town. If your daughter has special needs, your library likely has books to help both of you cope and progress. We librarians are here to help however we can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82