Renovation Of My Studio Apartment - The Story Behind Interior Design

in #life7 years ago

We started the renovation of this studio apartment with a tiny portion of the money or better to say with almost nothing, and it took us a whole year to finish it with lots of improvisational acrobatics when it comes to interior design. Besides that, there are some other things why I consider completion of this project as one of our (my) big accomplishments in 2017.

Studio Apartment - Interior Design

It was the first apartment in which my husband and I started to live together as a married couple. As with the children the family grew up, we bought a bigger apartment and moved into it.

As my mom was living alone and had a very small pension, I moved her into this studio apartment so she wouldn't have to pay the rent not just elsewhere but not at all anymore. To make her feel even more secure in that sense, we put the entire ownership solely on my name.

She lived there for almost full 20 years until 2010 when at the age of 90 she decided to go to a nearby home for the elderly. Then things become ugly and messy in which scenario several family members (each of them in its own way) played the key roles.

To make the long story short! The lock of the apartment was changed (not by me), and I wasn't able to enter my property for six years while during whole that time utility bills were regularly arriving.

A friend of mine who is also my lawyer wanted to end that drama for me hundreds of times during those six years, but I didn't allow him as I wanted to avoid dragging my over 90 years old mom to the court what would be inescapable in that case.

Although those six years cost me a lot of nerves and money, I firmly believed it would all settle down at its place one day. The only thing I didn't know was when and how. But you know how they say: "God works in mysterious ways!" And, when you expect the less in the most unpredictable way things happen.

For me, it was somewhere at the end of May 2016 when I was finally able to enter my property. We didn't know what we are going to find, although I tried to prepare myself, as I thought, almost to any possible outcome. Still, the findings shocked me.

Bathroom - Before

Room - Before

Kitchen and Balcony - Before

The place was devasted, dirty and cluttered while on the other hand, some more valuable antique furniture pieces were missing. The entire balcony was taken by pigeons who nested there and full of their feces. We didn't know where to start, and I was a bit desperate, especially when we soon after discovered all the tubes in the bathroom were clogged the way they couldn't be repaired but replaced while the kitchen sink has been leaking.

It happens to be that about a month and a half earlier (somewhere at the beginning of April 2016) we started a complete renovation of another apartment in the closer city center which we wanted to rent for tourists, and we were just finishing some main reconstruction work there.

It also happens to be that our daughter was getting married in two months and beside the wedding itself, we also wanted to support her to settle down in her new home. And last but not least, our youngest son was planning to move abroad in following five months, so we wanted to help him as well.

In other words, not only that whole our savings have been already allocated but we even had to take some loans to be able to cover the expenses that all occurred (some of them somewhat unplanned) as it seemed at the same time. There was not a single penny left for that studio apartment that showed up as the "cream on the top of the cake" above all those expenses.

The utility bills and other expenses connected to this studio apartment were killing us slowly for the past six years, and we wanted to get rid of that burden as soon as it would be possible by putting it in function so we can rent it. To be able to do that we were aware we would have to do a lot of things by ourselves.

Besides that, we had to renew the whole bathroom completely, built in entirely new airconditioning system, so I had to kiss goodbye my wish for new kitchen cabinets and appliances, as well as the idea for some new room furniture. We had to figure out how to use and put into function all the existing ones.

When all the clutter around the first apartment renovation, our daughter's wedding, and our youngest son's moving abroad settled down, every spare minute we had we spent in this small studio apartment by cleaning, repairing, renovating, arranging and rearranging.

It didn't take long and year 2016 became 2017, winter became spring, and spring became summer. To be precise, it was already August 2017 when we finally finished it, and here is the result.

Bathroom - After

Bathrom - After

Kitchen and Balcony - After

Kitchen - After

Room - After

Room After - Bedroom Part

Room After - Living Room Part

Now I'm glad I didn't give up!

divider

Posted on Saturday, January 13, 2018


Photos source:
All photos are my own, taken with my Olympus camera or one of my mobile phones.
~ © 2016-2018 steemit.com/@ana-maria ~ All rights reserved!


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

Well done ..
The fact of those who contemplate surrender does not make sense. Life will not stop
Tour after tour
You will feel the sweetness of life and gratitude

Thank you! 🙂

waw, looks totally differrent

OMG! You have turned a horrible mess into a perfect little hotel-like studio!

Fantastic work @ana-maria ! Despite it took you a whole year (and a little over) to get it all sparkling and dandy!

Particularly liked how you did the bathroom! Superb!

Many thanks, @littlenewthings! Glad you like it! 😊

lesson 1 - never give up :)

Yeah - right, although it's not always easy. 🙂

I know, but when you see results you feel great right? And you did wonderful job!

That's true!
But it was such a pain in the ass for a long time that is almost indescribable. And when we started to unclutter whole this mess it seemed at the beginning, like a never-ending story. It was an unbelievably time-consuming task. I thought for several months only the dust is self-producing there somehow.
And whenever we would pass one obstacle or solve one problem the other one would occur in some endless curve. Not to mention the money availability was as well heavily dictating the progress.
But it's done now and we have a very happy tenant there at the moment. 🙂

oh god was a radical change, I loved how I stay

LOL - Yes, it was!
And thank you for the compliments on its current state! 🙂

Wow, you have done a great job my dear. The house looks superbly done, after all its your effort that has all paid of so well.
I can completly understand what stress you must have gone through in all these years with the house matter. Property feuds are always very stressful, but I am glad you have finally come out victorious with all the determination.

Thank you very much, Nainaz! 🙂
I can't express enough how happy I am that this is behind me.
And when it comes to the property itself, I would probably get rid of it if there are no my kids for whom I'm keeping it, as I don't know when any of them might need it (or as a property itself or for the money by selling it).

I can imagine how relaxed you must be feeling my dear
Go with the flow, who knows what the children want in future.
Wish you all the very best :)

Thank you! 🙂

Wow!! You did a STUNNING job. You were tasked with a huge cleanup at the beginning but you put your heart and soul into this place. I especially love the bathroom. I could spend all day in there. 😂

hahaha - Thank you very much! It's funny how everyone sees something else. In fact, the majority here (through the photos I provided) prefer the bathroom, same as you do while for me the best is the part of the room which I arranged as a living room.
However, I'm glad you like it and thank you for stopping by and dropping a comment! 🙂

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-01-17-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @ana-maria, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1528 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $13234.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

very nice as you have succeeded in furnishing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78