Wake Up: Your Financial Clock is Ticking!

in #life7 years ago

numbers-time-watch-white-640x321.png

I'm a big believer in saving. I believe in living beneath my means. and this is not a guide into money and its thing. This is me sharing you how stupid the decisions I made in my teen life and early twenties were and why nobody shouldn't make them. I wish from the age of 18 I had followed the 50,30,20 rule(which I'll explain in a second);

I've been working since 17. 50% of my earning should go towards living, 30% should go towards my leisure, road trips, my partying... etc, 20% I should have saved. This formula is very important. Let everybody know about the 50, 30, 20 rule. Share it with friend and relatives. I'll tell you why you should.

Saving might not make you a millionaire. That's outright. But it will give you financial security, which you really need. However, most importantly, it will give you the chance to invest when the opportunity is available.

A little about myself; I am a freelance CG artist and animator by profession. I optionally work as a private instructor for private students all across the country (Kenya). Right at the infancy of the first crypto currency, the Bitcoin, I was really excited with the whole idea about a decentralised currency. Back in 2010, In my second year in college, I took about a quarter of my savings ,KES 80,000 ($800) and traded them for about 11900 bitcoins hoping to evade the hefty Taxes [in Kenya which is 16% VAT + 20% (the value of item + VAT) import duty, which totals to about 40% value; Which I'm sure anybody else would have considered evading..] while online shopping for a student's workstation (Which was my investment plan back then).
I ended up buying one with real cash because none of the major online markets had started to traded in Bitcoins at that time.
I felt damn coz I thought my money was gone. There was also this mentality where guys viewed Bitcoin as some sort of coupons, And everybody was suspicious about the whole thing. Guess people were just so used to real cash; Worse, were at least very few people if none who were trading Bitcoins for cash; the exchange value was really low, so Instead of making the loss, I decided to keep the Bitcoins.

To cut the long story short; This is the most significant investment I ever made in my Life. Had I known, I would have invested more. The big lesson here is saving. Had I not saved the little I had tried to, This opportunity would have just swept past me without me not even noticing.

Let me start with The dudes. You know guys are always making fun about chicks and biological clocks ticking; Guys have
a financial and life clock ticking. A guy who doesn't get his financial act together by the time is 30 is doomed. Yeah. DOOMED. and no number of "I know another Mohan who is gonna hook me up" cannot save you.

Your only salvation is if you marry a Lady who's got a financial plan and chances of her marrying you are almost nil.

As for Ladies, you don't follow that 50,30,20 rule, you be the chick in your late 20s and early 30s calling the Tom Leykis show at midday to complain how uncommitted dudes are, and announcing financial stability as your first dating turn-on for dudes. Worse, you might end up sticking out your jugs out at 2.00 AM in the shadows of the neighbourhood Junction.

I warned you, if yor are working now, if you're under 30 and you haven't learned how to save money go to your link, speak to your Bank, get a saving plan. Start saving .

Again to gentlemen stop buying round of drinks to chicks. Let them buy them themselves. When you finally got your money and can afford to dump a couple hundreds or even K's, you can buy her a real drink.

Have a blissful and awesome day good people This is my first post on steemit. I look foward to doing three blogs/articles a day. Do upvote if you liked it, appreciate it much. Dont forget to leave a comment below.

Sort:  

what percent should you save of your gross income and what should you save in?

Hi

For supporting Minnows, @whalegonewild is the new project
started that upvotes the minnow posts, for more details visit @whalegonewild.

First upvote is for free.

For any query contact at below discord channel,
https://discord.gg/AMC45h2

Love art too. Thanks for your contribution. We do better when we take red, not blue, pills. We live in MATRIX WALL E TERMINATOR DRAMA. Love chicks too. I'm 32 years old. I'm a man, an American in Vietnam these past almost five years now.
.
I bought BTC. I am trying my best to save money. Thank you. I'm Doctor Oatmeal Joey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43