Some Photos Of My Time In Iraq. This Is In Camp Victory!

in #life4 years ago (edited)

As most of you know I am an Iraq veteran. I had a ton of pictures from my time there. I would share many of them with you but the SD card I had a lot of them stored on is not working and some of them are not the best quality. They were taken with a cheap digital camera until I started using a different camera and they are of terrible quality. I do, however, have some that I will be sharing as time goes on. I also have some road footage that I will also share.

Here we all are at the "Tribute To The Troops" show where the WWE came over to Iraq and did a show for Raw. We had got done helping get things set up and we are just waiting on the show to begin. I might share some of the pictures I took of the event, it was a crazy day so some are not that good. Yes, I know I have my hands in my pockets but it was a chilly morning and they were cold. That is an officer sitting in the chair next to me and did not say a thing about it.

This event was held on Camp Victory in Baghdad! This is one of the many palaces that Saddam had in this area. It was on a lake he had dug and he had little houses all around the lake for his other wives or female friends (concubines I guess you would say). All the dirt that was dug out to make this lake was piled up and we used it for antenna hill, among other purposes.

This is looking across the lake at a corner where he had a tower for his soldiers to watch the perimeter of this palace compound. It caught my eye as the sun was going down at the end of the day and reflected off of the water. Camp Victory was a pretty place because that is the area that Saddam lived in. The rest of the city was a total disaster as he did not really care about the people of Iraq at all. I have to say, I do not like to get political on my blog, it reminds me of some of the sitting Representatives and Senators in our government. I think we all know the ones and the states we are talking about. That is all I will say about that!

Do not forget to follow, upvote and resteem my post. Follow so you will see my posts, upvote, and resteem to help my channel grow. It is greatly appreciated. Thank You! I hope everyone has a great night/day, whatever it is in your part of the world.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem


source

Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel


https://discord.gg/AXsA5uP

Sort:  

Those palaces saddam had are crazy. He lived large.

Yes, they are!
This was just one of many.
He had hotels for the big wigs coming in all over the city!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89