Just A Little Rant! I Will Be Posting More Here, Spring Is Here So Things Are Starting To Happen Again.

in #life6 years ago

As most of you know Me and my family are "homesteaders". I use that term because I am not sure how else to put it so people will understand what we are doing. I could be put as we are searching for self-reliance or just getting back to the old ways as much as possible.

We had things going good for a while where we lived in Alabama. I was coming together and we had a house a little land but was working to lease some land from the landowner behind us and we would have some areas for a big garden and some of the animals we wanted. Life was good!


Just some of the land we have now!

Then the word came down That we were getting deployed to Iraq and things went on hold, it was no big deal, just have to wait till I got back from the deployment to start on it. Well, I came home and plans got all messed up. As I had some injuries that had to be taken care of when I returned and I was down for a year or so. Got promised from the Army and many veteran organizations that it would be ok, nothing to worry about just get better and things would be taken care of, no worries! Wrong! Got the surgeries done and called the Veteran organizations and all I got was we were going too but we cannot now so you will have to deal with it yourself for a little bit until things come together for us.

That took us down another road, life is about traveling down the road we are given, we had some savings and we were hoping it would be ok. We went through the saving and nothing changed still on our own. So we started selling stuff, truck, car, and a boat I had before deployment as I love to fish, to try and hold on to our house and we failed miserably at it. We lost it and was off on another road.


Backside of the property

We found an owner financed piece of land and went to start where we are now. We saved up and got it somewhat cleared and got the septic in and got the well in. We hauled water for two years and was glad we did not have to do that anymore. We built a pallet cabin and had a camper and a motorhome we got for little to nothing here because they were not in the best shape and did some work to make them work for us. We found a 14x45 office trailer to remodel and live in. I have had 4 knee surgeries and the doctor told me it would never be right because it kept popping in and out of where it needed to be and I would have to be easy with it, lower back problems and neck problems but will not let them operate as they messed up my knee and do not want a replay of the problems with it. So here we are!

Yes, I have said all this before but it is the background to where I am going with this. So bear with me as here is what I really what to get into right now. I went to work in the oilfield and was making good money, thus having the cash for some stuff here, but I could not keep up with the problems I was having physically, so they let me go. Could not find anyone that wanted a lame old veteran to work for them because of the liability on them. So here we are again and working to do what we can.


The start of us digging to put in a septic tank

I took a lot of flack for starting a gofundme page to try and get a tractor to help with some stuff here as digging and clearing by hand was not going to work in the long run as I was down for three days to every one of the days of doing this. I will share the link to this page and you can see it here. https://www.gofundme.com/helping-a-disabled-veteran-build-a-homestead No this is not a real life or death situation I guess you could say but it is a preventing a life crippling situation. I guess it is, however, you want to look at it. It is in the eye of the beholder I guess and how people look at this. I want to say thanks to all that sent me Steem, SBD, Gift card, and donated on the gofundme page! It was saved and will be put in the saving fund for the tractor.

I guess what I do not understand is how people criticize me for doing this but will look at all the gofundme pages for animals and others that are hurting and trying to make there lives better and it is all good. But they choose me to look down on and tell me I should be embarrassed by this and what a piece of crap I am. I guess many of the people that are doing this has never needed help doing anything and have never asked for help. They are promoting there amazon links, patreon pages, liberpay pages, and their buy me a coffee page. Kinda like the pot calling the kettle black huh? Oh well, I am just a guy that is trying to do the best he can do and that is all.

Ok, I am done with the rant if you made it this far thanks for reading and listening to a crazy old veteran fussing and getting some things off of his chest. I am working towards a goal and I will make it one way or the other. I stopped posting here for a while because I was just discouraged and I guess I was just plain mad. I decided I was not going to let it get me down and I would just continue to do what I was and make the best of what life threw my way. Have a great day and I will talk to you on the next post if you stick around and stay following me after this post.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem


Photo From Pinterest.Com


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel

!

()

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ambiguity (Mike) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @ambiguity! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67