Let me help you rid yourself of Adult Acne

in #life8 years ago (edited)

To those who don't have it, acne can seem like a trivial thing to let get under your skin. But those of us who sometimes do have pimples know that the way we look and the way we see ourselves is a much bigger deal than a little zit would make you think. In a society that judges people and even values women on how we look, it is hard not to stress about your face. I would like to take this time to help. After struggling with acne (which, by the way, Louise L. Hay says is related to self-criticism) for most of my life, I finally took control of my face and haven't had to worry about my skin in about 6 months. I got 99 problems but acne ain't one!

Here I will teach you my face routine, which is all organic - perhaps why it works so well? I discovered this routine researching for my small business, which I will talk about more at the end of the post. Without further ado, my skin-care routine:

I exfoliate my face 2-3 times a week in the shower. Exfoliation helps with acne a lot, and is often forgotten. I use a scrubby glove like this:

I pick mine up at the Dollar Tree for $1 but I'm sure a more expensive one would work just as well if you got money to spend. Just lightly scrub your face with something like this in the shower until your face feels smooth. Don't scrub your skin off for God's sake and don't blame me if you do. You're just trying to get off the old, dead skin from the surface.

Next, directly after exfoliating, I wash my face. I use my own invention, called Zit-B-Gone to clean out dirt and bacteria. It is a simple mixture and you can make it at home. Here's what you need:

Honey is the base. Local honey is best. Honey is anti-bacterial and great to wash your face with. Pour 1/2 cup of honey into a jar with a lid. Next, add 1/16 tsp of ground cinnamon. Cinnamon dries up acne really well. Don't overdo it with the cinnamon like I did once; I screamed when I saw my face in the mirror, completely red with little white circles around the eyes. Took 15 minutes of fresh aloe therapy to fix. Anyway, the third ingredient that I use in this mixture is zinc oxide. Non-nano. It's a mineral and helps keep your face free of pimples as well. Use 1/2 tsp of zinc. Mix up your ingredients and you've got an all natural, hard-working face cleanser. There you go.

The third and final step in keeping my face clear is moisturizing. You might think, the last thing my greasy face needs is more oil, but trust me, you are wrong about that. That belief has been holding you back from perfect skin. Your face is so greasy because it is too dry in the first place and is making extra grease to compensate. Oil it up, baby! You will see results. Here's what I use to moisturize:

I have found that grapeseed oil is so light that it is the perfect face moisturizer. Other good ones would be avocado or almond oils. You can use them straight, but I like to add a couple essential oils. I add rosemary to combat wrinkles and rose to help with rosacea. Other oils could be chosen for their specific qualities. I apply this oil to my face every night and pretty much every morning.

Also, DO NOT PICK AT YOUR FACE. This is a big one, and I am guilty of it myself. I know how satisfying it can be to sqeeeeeze out the goo, but you know you just leave a grotesque battlefield on your visage. Stop it. You need to stop it. Love yourself. Do not take out your frustrations on your poor face. Keep your hands to yourself and you will be impressed by how much clearer you look.

To recap: Exfoliate and wash your face 2 or 3 times a week. Moisturize everyday, especially before going to bed. Do not pick your pimples. And love yourself. You are beautiful. You are healthy.

I no longer have acne after teaching myself this routine. I hope that this is of some help to people out there. You can be free of adult acne! Really!
Also, if you do not feel like making the products that I described, I make them and sell them. Just message me through the Lost City Herbals Facebook page. I'd love to make a deal with you!

Peace all!