Why hotel management? Why hospitality?

in #life7 years ago

So why hospitality? The answer to every single human being that asked me this question will always be the same.

Because I like it.

That's all.

I still remember the time when my parents asked me what I want to study after graduating from my high school. The first thing came to their mind is some boring old professions like doctor or lawyer. But, what went through my brain at that time was I did not like those professions at all although they can really make lots of money. It's not a bad thing studying the boring old but profitable professions but it's the passion that really define what I wanted to study. I still remember the first time I saw Masterchef US on Astro and I told myself :

I want to be like them.

103439138.jpg

But what really triggered me to study hospitality management was the time when I visited a stunning hotel in Japan. The way that they provide their service to the guests and their professional attitude towards everyone they served...

I just want to be like them.

201708_oversea_800x470.jpg

Before I told my parents what I wanted to study for my future, I talked to my brother about it as he is like my second dad at home. Not because of the age gap, is just he gave pretty good advice sometimes ( He's going to be so happy after seeing this).

The one thing that he said stuck in my mind until now is :

Alyssa, it's good that you know what you want to do in your life but you really need to think about it deeply before making this big decision. But if you are still scared or indecisive, why not pray to GOD and ask him for guidance?

I understand that even if I prayed to HIM asking for his guidance , I still need to make my own decision because it's my future right?

And so, I gathered up all my power and strength to tell my parents the final decision ...

Dad and Mum, I want to work in the hospitality world.

lies-kids-tell-parents-10.gif

Those 11 words literally came out from my mouth with butterflies in my stomach. That moment was like speaking to the almighty King and Queen of the world. Their first reaction were just staring into my eyes for 5 seconds and of cause, they were not supportive of my decision. They always heard people talking bad about the hospitality world and reality started to hit them when their mind created images of their youngest daughter is going to work as a waitress or a housekeeper that clean up people's mess.

Being a hospitality student, I heard negative comments such as..

There are no future in this industry....
You cannot earn much like doctors or lawyers...
Huh? You will be working with the Bangladesh people, are you really okay with it?

And so much more...

To be honest, what they said were the truths. I worked in different hotels as an intern and a part-timer. There were times where customers scolded me for other's mistakes. There were also time where I did more work than other employees in the hotel. There were moments where I cried alone out of tough times in the locker room...

giphy.gif

But all that went away when my employer praised me for my outstanding performance. All the sweat and tears disappeared when the customers praised you for your outstanding service and gave a thumbs up in front of your manager and director. Besides, I experienced tired but happy moments and shared my laughter with my colleagues, a.k.a. The Bangla's ( They are not as bad as you think ) and of cause with the other permanent employees.

There are benefits of working in this industries like major job opportunities and your social network definitely will expand. Some people might disagree with me but the benefits are actually depends on how you define them. It depends on how you see them in positive ways and also how you conquer them.

Roll-Safe-Think-About-It.jpg

The hospitality world is not easy. It is a world that filled with drama, competition, action... It is a tough world out there. Whenever people asked me for advice or the benefits of studying this course, I would tell them this...

Please be mentally, physically and spiritually prepare. It looks easy but honey, don't let the look deceive you.

21227097.gif

My top survival kit before I start my work is a reminder to myself:

I chose this path and whatever hardships I am facing, I will take it as a lesson and stand back up.

I love what I am doing currently and the smile that I put on every customers equals to a pat on my shoulder stating : Alyssa, good job! Well done! Keep it up!

Sometimes it is okay to talk to yourself . It is not crazy at all to tell yourself a job well done or you have tried your best.

Trust me, been there, done that and am still a happy sane girl making my way towards the hospitality world.

Last but not least...My dear steemians! Good job! Well done ! Keep it up!

Sort:  

once upon a time .. i used to work with Starwood among a few of the Hotel chains. I've been in the hospitality for many years and had the previlledge to be part of the pre-opening teams for about 10 hotels . 4 of it is in Bukit Bintang ! I had the BEST experience and also faced the WORST challenges in the hospitality line. The only problem is once you get in ... you are in for life ! Your entire life would revolve around hospitality ! My one and only advise .... have a trait which is SO unique that almost every single hotel wants you. You will climb up so fast and have the best time of your life.
I started when i was 19 .. and by the time i was 25 i was an expat in indonesia at a resort ( which i should not name ) with 2 golf courses, 19 outlets , 52 private chalets and 120 rooms and had a total staffing of 1,500 with revenue per day of about 300k USD. .... Fun times !! Never let anyone talk you out of your dreams ..

Wow! That is amazing! I really love this industry even after I know the challenges of staying in this industry. I heard so much about once you get in...you are in for life! It's nice to know someone from the hospitality world. I will definitely continue pursuing my dreams !

haha .. I left the hospitality industry about 10 years ago ... it was the hardest decision however it had to be done. i realized that i needed to force myself out to venture into other things which i really wanted to. You will know it when your time come ... but till then ... the journey is an exciting and challenging one.

Okay... Thanks for the sharing and tips anyways! Wish you all the best in your job now!

Managing a hotel comes with a range of responsibilities. You must be able to adapt to new challenges, help different departments and ensure the hotel maintains a standard of excellence. As a hotel manager, you will be responsible for overseeing and having a strong knowledge of finance, planning, service, and organization. The toughest work of a hotel manager is investing in the right hotel management software to grow his business.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58167.25
ETH 2358.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36